Holocaust Studies

See United States Holocaust Memorial Museum for bibliographies on a variety of Holocaust topics

Major Library Catalogues:

Azrieli Holocaust Collection (Concordia University) - over 8,500 items

The Vidal Sassoon International Centre for the Study of Antisemitism Bibliography  includes citations for  over 30,000 books and articles on the Holocaust.

The Weiner Library (For the Study of the Holocaust & Genocide) Catalogue  is an extensive listing of books and pamphlets.  Can also search for photographs, document and audiovisual material

Other print resources include:

• A Critical bibliography of writings on Judaism / David B. Griffiths.  Lewiston, N.Y.: E. Mellen Press, 1988. 2 v. BM155.2 .G74 1988
  • v.2, chapter 1 contains substantial information dealing with the Holocaust
  • majority of the entries are in English; annotated
  • chapters on the Holocaust covers resistance, survival literature, debate on the Jewish Councils, the problem of the relationship between literature and atrocity
     
• Antisemitic propaganda: an annotated bibliography and research guide / Robert Singerman.  New York: Garland, 1982. DS141 .S54 1982
  • brief annotations for books and articles
    ​
• Bearing witness: a resource guide to literature, poetry, art, music, and videos by Holocaust victims and survivors / Philip Rosen.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002. 
  • this resource guide will help readers locate over 800 first-person accounts
  • Also available in print - D804.3 .R67 2002
     
• Bibliography on Holocaust literature / by Abraham J. Edelheit.  Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1986. D810 .J4 E33 1986  and Supplement in 1990
  • contains 9,014 entries for English-language books, periodicals and pamphlets
     
• European war crimes trials: a bibliography / Inge S. Neumann. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1978, c1951. JX5433 .N37 1951
   
• The Holocaust: an annotated bibliography / by Harry J. Cargas.  2nd ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1985. D810 .J4 C34 1985
  • critical annotations in classified arrangement to about 500 books published in English in the U.S.
  • first edition published in 1977

• The Holocaust in literature for youth: a guide and resource book / Edward T. Sullivan.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999. D804.3 .S85 1999
   
• The Jews in Poland and Russia: bibliographical essays / Gershon David Hundert.  Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University Press, 1984. DS135 .P6 H84 1983 ​
   
• ​​​​​​​​​Nazism, resistance & holocaust in World War II: a bibliography / Vera Laska.  Metuchen, N.J. Scarecrow Press, 1985. D810 .J4 L345 1985
   
• On the Holocaust: a critique of the treatment of the Holocaust in history textbooks, accompanied by an annotated bibliography / Henry Friedlander.  New York: Anti-Defamation League of B'nai B'rith, 1973. D810 .J4 F72 1973 
   
• The Psychological and medical effects of concentration camps and related persecutions on survivors of the Holocaust: a research bibliography/ by Leo Eitinger.  Vancouver: University of British Columbia press, 1985. - listing of about 1600 books and articles published to 1984.  Also available in print  (D 810 J4 E57 1985
   
• Wartime Poland, 1939-1945: a select annotated bibliography of books in English / Walter Okonski. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. D765 .O38 1997  - good coverage of the Holocaust