Asian Studies
This is a guide to research resources for east and south Asian studies.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias - Asian Studies
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are wonderful tools for locating background information on a topic and will often direct you to key books and articles on your subject.
Below I have listed a few examples. To quickly locate encyclopedias on your topic, enter your topic "and encyclopedia' in the search box on the library home page. To be more comprehensive go to advanced search and search for (encyc* or dict*) and our topic limiting both to the subject field. For example if you were researching in the area of Japanese politics try - Japan* and politic*and (encyc* or dict*)
Selected examples:
- The Canadian Encyclopedia - see articles "Chinese" "Japanese Canadians" "Koreans" etc.
- Credo Reference - over 453 reference books - links you to Oxford Reference Online and Gale Virtual Reference Library - two other collections of online dictionaries
- Encyclopaedia of Asian Civilizations - 10 vols. + supplement Call Number: DS 4 L68 1977 Location
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia - part of Gale Virtual Reference Library - collection of over 90 encyclopedias and handbooks
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences - extensvie entries on a wide variety of topics
- Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan - 9 vols. + supplement
Call Number: DS 805 K64 1983 Location - Oxford Reference Online - 100 language and subject dictionaries
- Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific Call Number: HA 4551 S73 2013 Location
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the Maldies
Call Number: DS 334.9 C36 1989 Location - Encyclopaedia of Asian History - 4 vols.
- Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution
Call Number: DS 778.7 G86 2006 Location - Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea
DS 909 N34 2004 Location
- Digital Dictionaires of South Asia - contains searchable online dictionaries for twenty-six of the modern literary languages of South Asia.
- Chinese-English Dictionary
- Asian American Playwrights: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook
- also available in print PS 338 A74 A85 2002 - Encyclopaedia of Indian Literature
Call Number: PK 2902 E52 1987 Location - Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature
Call Number: PL2265 .I53 1986 Location
- very good for overviews of sacred texts including Daoist Canon
- Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
Call Number: E 184 A1 B574 2000 Location
- vol. 1 African Americans and Asian Americans - Political Parties of Asia and the Pacific
Call Number: JQ 39 A45 P66 1992 Location
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism
- Routledge Curzon encyclopedias of Confucianism
Call Number: BL 1840 R68 2003 Location - see also Religious Studies - Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Last Updated: Jul 13, 2023 7:56 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/asian
- Print Page