Architecture Web Sites & AssociationsDesign Museums & AssociationsPublishers and Booksellers: Art, Architecture & Design
Architectural DrawingsArchitecture of CanadaBuilding MaterialsBuilding Type InfoCalgary Architecture & Historic Building InfoDesign(er) Info
1. Online & Print Reference Books2. Architectural Standards3. Building Codes4. Online 18th C. Dictionaries5. Reference by Online Resource
Architecture Research GuideCiting & Writing for Art & ArchitectureRefWorks
This is the "Home/Help" page of the "Architecture & Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Architecture & Design   Tags: architecture, industrial_design, product_design  

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2011 URL: http://libguides.ucalgary.ca/architecture-design Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home/Help Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Taylor Family Digital Library

Now open!

Centre for Arts & Culture
TFDL 5th floor


Visual & Performing Arts (VP Arts)
TFDL 3rd floor

  • Additional service desk for Architecture & Design as well as Videos and Images
  • Collections:
    - Architecture print reference
    - Art and Architecture booklets (e.g. Canadian exhibition catalogues)
    - Canadian art/architect files
    - Slide collection
    - Video collection
  • Video viewing and sound recording listening facilities

TFDL General Collection for:

  • Newer and heavily-used print books & journals
  • Architecture books with NA call numbers on 5th floor
  • SB Landscape Architecture, TH Building Construction, and TS Industrial Design publications on 6th floor

For items not in the TFDL, place a HOLD as directed by Library Catalogue.


The Nickle Arts Museum
TFDL 1st Floor - Coming soon

  • No exhibitions during move to TFDL

Spatial and Numeric Data Services
TFDL 4th floor

  • Includes CAD format, City Files, Calgary fire insurance plans (paper), digital maps & census data
  • Visualization room - coming soon
  • Large format scanner available
  • Request in advance access to Calgary airphotos and paper maps

TFDL Learning Commons

  • Service Desk - 1st floor
    • Integrated reference and circulation services
    • For research assistance of a general nature
    • LCR staff
  • Tech Support - 2nd floor
    • IT staff
 

About the Architecture & Design Subject Guide

This guide is intended to help you get started with your architecture and design research - including the history of architecture, professional practice of architecture, building construction, landscape architecture, and industrial/product design.

If you are not sure where to start, book an appointment with your Architecture & Design Librarian for help with:

  • General orientation to architecture and design collections and services
  • Assignments and research papers
  • Thesis and research literature review assistance
  • Electronic databases, including identifying, accessing, searching, and retrieving fulltext articles and high-resolution images
    • E.g. Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals;
    • E.g. 2 Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
    • E.g. 3 ARTstor digital image database
  • Book a LCR instruction class for your students and/or have an online handout prepared for a specific architecture or design course or assigment.
  • Feedback on LCR services
 

Recommend an Item for Purchase

Recommend an Item for Purchase
Students, faculty and staff can recommend a book, DVD, CD, digital image or other item for purchase.

 

Donate to the Library

Donations of books, exhibition catalogues, DVDs and, of course, monetary donations are welcome!

Donated material must be in good condition and normally must not duplicate materials already held by LCR.

For further information, contact Molly Taylor, Gifts Coordinator, Collections, MLB425B, Libraries and Cultural Resources; phone: (403) 220-3797.

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Ask Your Architecture Librarian

Linda Fraser
Architecture Librarian; 
Archivist, Canadian Architectural Archives

Contact Info:
Phone: (403) 220-7662
Office: TFDL 530B. Ask for her at the Centre for Arts & Culture reception desk.
E-mail: lmfraser@ucalgary.ca

Subjects:
Architecture, Canadian Architectural Archives

Your VP Arts Team

Profile Image
Visual & Performing Arts
Contact Info
330 Taylor Family Digital Library
Phone: (403) 220-6162
Fax: (403) 210-9129
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip