Taylor Family Digital Library
Now open!
Visual & Performing Arts (VP Arts)
TFDL 3rd floor
- Service desk for Art & Art History as well as Videos and Images
- Collections:
- Art print reference
- Art and Architecture booklets (e.g. Canadian exhibition catalogues)
- Canadian art/architect files
- Slide collection
- Video collection - Video viewing and sound recording listening facilities
TFDL General Collection for:
- Newer and heavily-used print books & journals
- Art books with N-NX call numbers on 5th floor
- TR Photography and TS Design books on 6th floor
For items not in the TFDL, place a HOLD as directed by Library Catalogue.
The Nickle Arts Museum
TFDL 1st Floor - Coming soon under new name: Nickle Galleries
- No exhibitions during move to TFDL
Centre for Arts & Culture
TFDL 5th floor
- Canadian Architectural Archives
- Special Collections:
- Artists' Books Collection
- George Morley Cartoon Collection
- Rare and Historical Architectural Books
- Canadian Art books
(search Library Catalogue) - Offices of Archives, Special Collections, & Nickle Arts Museum staff
TFDL Learning Commons
- Service Desk - 1st floor
- Integrated reference and circulation services
- For research assistance of a general nature
- LCR staff
- Tech Support - 2nd floor
- IT staff
About the Art & Art History Subject Guide
This guide is intended to help you get started with your art research - including art history, painting, printmaking, sculpture, drawing, photography, art education, and textiles (rugs).
There is presently no assigned Art Librarian.
Please visit the Visual & Performing Arts desk.
- General orientation to art collections and services
- Assignments and research papers
- Thesis and research literature review assistance
- Electronic databases, including identifying, accessing, searching, and retrieving fulltext articles and high-resolution images
- E.g. Art Abstracts / Art Index Retrospective
- E.g. 2 Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
- E.g. 3 ARTstor digital image database
- Feedback on LCR services
- Book a LCR instruction class for your students and/or have an online handout prepared for a specific art course or assigment.
Recommend an Item for Purchase
Recommend an Item for Purchase
Students, faculty and staff can recommend a book, exhibition catalogue, DVD, CD, digital image or other item for purchase.
Donate to the Library
Donations of books, exhibition catalogues, Canadian artist ephemera, DVDs, CDs, music scores, digital images with copyrights, and, of course, monetary donations are welcome!
Donated material must be in good condition and normally must not duplicate materials already held by LCR.
For further information, contact Molly Taylor, Gifts Coordinator, Collections, MLB425B, Libraries and Cultural Resources; phone: (403) 220-3797.
Other Collections to Note:
The Military Museums and Founders' Gallery
Current Exhibitions
4520 Crowchild Trail SW, Calgary
Your VP Arts Team
Subjects: Videos, Images, Sound recordings, Music, Dance, Drama, Fillm Studies, Art, Architecture & Design |



Loading...
