Reference Tools
Your one-stop for reference sources such as encyclopedias, abbreviations, biographies, dictionaries and more.
Science and Engineering Encyclopedias
Science and Engineering
Note: This is not a comprehensive list. For more encyclopedias related to your subject, please visit your subject Research Guide or use the main search box on the library home page to search by title or subject
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (U of C Only) - A fully searchable, working editorial site of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, and science and society.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (U of C Only) – One of the best sources for chemical technology, it brings together and treats systematically facts on the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. Environmental and health concerns are also addressed. Print: TP9 .E542 1999 Held at HDL.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (U of C Only) – One of the best sources for chemical technology, it brings together and treats systematically facts on the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. Environmental and health concerns are also addressed. Print: TP9 .E542 1999 Held at HDL.
Medline Plus: The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations