Skip to main content Research Guides
University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Mobile Apps and Resources

This guide is intended to be a starting point for health care professionals and students looking for resources for mobile devices. If you have suggestions or questions, please contact me at helen.lee.robertson@ucalgary.ca.

Library Apps

The following mobile apps are available for download through current library subscriptions. Content is stored on your device and can be used without wifi or data.

App Information Instructions 

Browzine
Browse UC journals back to 2005 by subject or title. Add favourite journals to "My Bookshelf", save, share, and export articles to citation management systems.

DynaMed Plus  
DynaMed Plus offers the most current, evidence-based information available for use at the point-of-care. It includes overviews and recommendations, graphics and images, and Micromedex drug content. It can be downloaded on up to three devices on the same interface. The FAQs for technical support is at 
http://support.ebsco.com/contact/index.php

Nursing Reference Center

Nursing Reference Center (NRC) Plus
NRC is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses at the point of care.

  • Download the Nursing Reference Center app.
  • On a desktop or laptop, register at NRC iPhone/iPod Touch Application (bottom of the page).
  • Open the email on your device and authenticate. Content will automatically download.
  • It is active on your device for 9 months. Follow the same process to renew after that time.
  • Icon Icon 

PCR (Primary Care Resources)
A cross-platform tool designed to allow rapid access to many local primary care resources, clinical pathways, and point of care tools available to physicians. 
- A set of curated clinical resources (PDFs, Websites, Videos) from groups such as Toward Optimized Practice (TOP), Alberta College of Family Physicians (ACFP), University of Calgary and much more.
- A list of important clinical organization contacts within Alberta Health Services. Contact phone numbers, emails and websites.
- A list of tools that have been reviewed, rated and recommended for both clinical and office use by primary care physicians. 
- Funded by the Department of Distributed Learning and Rural Initiatives of the Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary.

  • Download app from the App Store
  • Create an account or use as a guest
  • Available on a desktop from mypcr.ca
  • Icon

RxTx
The mobile version of Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties is not available as a mobile app through U of C but it is available to physician, resident, and student members of the Canadian Medical Association (CMA).

VisualDx  
With over 25000 images representing more than 1200 pediatric & adult conditions, VisualDx allows physicians to search by diagnosis, build a patient-specific differential, or look up drug-induced adverse reactions by medication.

Please note: Because the image files are so large, VisualDx requires a wifi connection to access the content.

  1. From an U of C desktop computer, launch VisualDx after entering it in the library search box.
  2. Click on “Get the Mobile App” to register and receive an username and password via email.
  3. Go to the App Store or Google Play to download the app.
  4. Enter your new username and password when prompted.
    Icon   Icon   

Suggested Medical Apps

 

App Information Instructions

Alberta Health Services
The AHS Health Care Locator shows hospitals, health care facilties, programs & services throughout Alberta. It includes real-time estimated wait times for Calgary and Edmonton emergency departments and important contact information, including HealthLink, Poison Control (PADIS), Mental Health Help Line and Kids Help Phone. Free. Details at http://www.albertahealthservices.ca/mobile.asp
Icon Icon

Search for and download the app from the appropriate app store:


App Store

Icon
Google Play

Icon

BlackBerry World

Icon
Palm App Store

Icon

Windows Phone Apps+Games Store

Icon

or Amazon Appstore for Android

AHS EMS Medical Control Protocols
A free app for Alberta Health Services Protocols for pre-hospital care practitioners in Alberta. Information includes adult & pediatric algorithms, reference materials and pharmacology There are over 100 protocols and 50 medications, including infusion charts, resource information, and provincial contacts.

Icon Icon Icon

Bugs & Drugs
Bugs & Drugs is a comprehensive, evidence-based reference created by AHS for health care practitioners. It provides current recommendations for the appropriate use of antimicrobilas and the optimal treatment and prevention of infectious diseases. $19.99.

Icon

CPS Essentials
The free app from the Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPS) includes Health Canada advisories, calculators and productivity tools. Individual paid subscriptions to CPS Monographs ($179.99/year) and CPS Drug Choices ($39.99) can be purchased and added to this app.

Icon Icon

DrawMD
DrawMD for iPad helps physicians create detailed, interactive visuals to easily explain complex issues and procedures to patients. Modules include General Surgery, Orthopedics, Cardiology, Obgyn, ENT, Pediatrics, and more. These apps are all free. http://www.drawmd.com/

Icon

Epocrates
The free Rx Drug Reference includes brand, generic, and OTC medicines, drug interaction check and pill ID. Epocrates Essentials for $159.95/year includes disease information, alternative medications, lab guides and other clinical tools and content. It is not available through U of C. http://www.epocrates.com/

Icon Icon Icon

MDCalc App Logo

MDCalc  

MDCalc is the leading free medical reference for the most relevant, up-to-date and widely used clinical calculators that support evidence-based patient care.

Icon Icon

Medscape Mobile
Medscape Mobile provides a clinical reference with continually updated information on over 3,000 diseases, conditions, and procedures; peer-reviewed evidence-based content; articles enhanced with multimedia including over 2,500 images and more than 150 videos; and step-by-step instructions on clinical procedures. It also has a drug reference and interaction checker. Free. 
http://www.medscape.com/

Icon Icon 

Image result for orthobullets

OrthoBullets  

This is an educational resource for orthopaedic surgeons designed to improve training through the communal efforts of those who use it as a learning resource. It features topics, technique guides, cases, and user-generated videos.

Icon Icon

Pedi STAT
Pedi STAT is a rapid reference when caring for pediatric patients in the emergency or critical care environment. Ranked among “The Best Drug Reference Apps for Emergency Physicians“ by Emergency Physicians monthly. $3.49 for Apple version, $8 for Android.

Icon Icon

SnapDx
A free evidence-based clinical assessment tool for healthcare clinicians and trainees at the point-of-care to guide physical exams and bedside assessments. It utilizes data on pre-test probabilities, post-test probabilities, and likelihood ratios from over 130 clinical studies and meta-analyses (e.g. the JAMA Rational Clinical Exam series). It covers key diseases and topics commonly encountered in clinical practice. http://www.snapdx.co/

Icon

Spectrum Calgary
A knowledge translation tool for antimicrobial stewardship customized for use in Calgary.It offers algorithmic decision support, drug information, pathogen information, renal dosing calculator, and infection prevention and control recommendations. Free.

Icon

 

 

 

Subscription-Based Apps

 

App Information Instructions

Epocrates
The free Rx Drug Reference includes brand, generic, and OTC medicines, drug interaction check and pill ID. The Epocrates Essentials subscription includes disease information, alternative medications, lab guides and other clinical tools and content. It costs $159.95/year and is not available through U of C. http://www.epocrates.com/

Icon Icon Icon

Search for and download the app from the appropriate app store:


App Store

Icon
Google Play

Icon

BlackBerry World

Icon
Palm App Store

Icon

Windows Phone Apps+Games Store

Icon

or Amazon Appstore for Android

Medscape Mobile
Medscape Mobile is a free application for healthcare professionals. It provides a clinical reference with continually updated information on over 3,000 diseases, conditions, and procedures; peer-reviewed evidence-based content; articles enhanced with multimedia including over 2,500 images and more than 150 videos; and step-by-step instructions on clinical procedures. It also has a drug reference and interaction checker.
http://www.medscape.com/

Icon Icon  

 

 

Key

IconApple  Icon Android   Icon BlackBerry   Icon Palm   Icon Windows   Amazon Kindle Fire    Pre-clerkship tools