Skip to main content Research Guides
University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Mobile Apps and Resources

This guide is intended to be a starting point for health care professionals and students looking for resources for mobile devices. If you have suggestions or questions, please contact me at helen.lee.robertson@ucalgary.ca.

Library Mobile-Optimized Websites

The following mobile-optimized websites are available for viewing through current library subscriptions. These websites are not device specific and can be viewed on any mobile device that can get onto internet. They require a wifi or data connection to operate.

 

Mobile Site Information Instructions
AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine
The mobile view has 80+ e-books, including Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Clinician's Pocket Reference, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, and more.

  1. From an U of C desktop computer, go to http://www.accessmedicine.com.ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/features.aspx and register for a personal account from My AccessMedicine at the top. This account is used to log into AccessMedicine.
  2. From http://ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Default.aspx?grpalias=UnivCalgary on your mobile device, use the Username and Password created above.
  3. You will need to re-authenticate every 90 days.
    Icon   Icon   Icon
ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey
Elsevier's ClinicalKey includes +900 e-books and 400 e-journals. It also has over 9,000 medical and procedural videos,
 

  1. From an U of C desktop computer, go to https://www-clinicalkey-com.ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/ and register for a personal account from the Register button at the top. This account is used to log into ClinicalKey.
  2. Go to ClinicalKey (from your device, click on the ClinicalKey icon on the left). If you are offsite, you will be asked to authenticate with the option to save the password (if Autofill in Settings is on).
  3. Enter your registration information.
    Icon   Icon

DynaMed Plus
DMP is also available as an app but in order to obtain CME, use the mobile optimized site.

  1. Using Safari (iOS) or Chrome (Android) go to http://library.ucalgary.ca/hsl, click on DynaMed Plus.
  2. For iOS devices, tap the share button, then Add to Home Screen to save the link. For Android, tap the menu button, then Add to homescreen.
EBSCO

EBSCOhost (e.g. CINAHL)
EBSCOhost is an aggregator of library databases, including CINAHL, the nursing and allied health literature.

  1. Log into EBSCO.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the EBSCOHost menu page and click on the iPhone and Android download link.
  3. You will be asked to enter your email address so that instructions and a key can be emailed to you.
ebrary

ebrary
ebrary contains +30,000 full-text scholarly e-books in all subjects. Also has government and research institute publications in the Canadian Health Research and Canadian Public Policy collections.

  1. Download the app from the App Store.
    Icon   Icon

JAMAevidence
Includes "Users' Guides to the Medical Literature", "The Rational Clinical Examination", "Care at the Close of Life", calculators, glossary, and more.

  1. Go to JAMAevidence and athenticate in the same way as other UC resources.
    Icon   Icon

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full-text scientific database covering over 2,500 journals and 11,000 books published by Elsevier, the world's largest scientific, technical, and medical information provider.

  1. Log into ScienceDirect and create a username and password. You must use your U of C email address.
  2. Go to your U of C email account and click the validation link supplied to you in an email.
  3. Download the free app from your app store.
  4. Launch the app and log in with the username and password created in Step 1.
  5. Only journals subscribed to by the library will be available in full-text.
    Icon   Icon   Icon
SpringerLink

SpringerLink
SpringerLink provides access to Springer's database of articles in science, technology and medicine.

  1. Download the mobile app from the iTunes app store or the Android marketplace.
    Icon   Icon

SpringerProtocols
Springer Protocols is the largest database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences.

  1. Using your mobile browser, search for Springer Protocols. Open the page.
  2. You will be prompted to add an icon to your home screen.
    Icon   Icon
VisualDx

VisualDx 
With over 25000 images representing more than 1200 pediatric & adult conditions, VisualDx allows physicians to search by diagnosis, build a patient-specific differential, or look up drug-induced adverse reactions by medication.

Please note: Because the image files are so large, VisualDx requires a wifi connection to access the content.

  1. From an U of C desktop computer, launch VisualDx after entering it in the library search box.
  2. Click on “Get the Mobile App” to register and receive an username and password via email.
  3. Go to the App Store or Google Play to download the app.
  4. Enter your new username and password when prompted.
    Icon   Icon  

Suggested Free Mobile-Optimized Websites

App Information Instructions
Dragon Medical

Dragon Medical Search
Dragon Medical Search is a voice activated search tool that pulls results from a variety of medical content websites such as MEDLINE, Medscape as well as Google.

Search and download Dragon Medical from the Apple App Store

Icon   website

 

PubMed Mobile

PubMed Mobile
PubMed includes millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Using your mobile browser, go to http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mobile/ and launch PubMed Mobile. Add a shortcut to your home screen.

website

PubMed4Hh

PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh)
Mobile site features multiple ways to search PubMed/MEDLINE: PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome); askMEDLINE, a free-text, natural language search; and Consensus Abstracts. Apple iOS app includes these options as well as BabelMeSH which has search options in 13 languages.

Using your mobile browser, go to http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mobile/ and launch PubMed for Handhelds. Add a shortcut to your home screen.

Icon   website

 

 

Key

IconApple  Icon Android   Icon BlackBerry   Icon Palm   Icon Windows  Amazon Kindle Fire   website www   Pre-clerkship tools