LAW Canadian Statutes

This guide is intended to help researchers locate legislation for all Canadian jurisdictions and provide links to sources for other legislative materials

Finding Bills

Bills are presented in Parliament (House of Commons or Senate) or in provincial or territorial legislatures as proposed laws. Once passed into law, they become Acts or Statutes.

Federal Bills are on first floor (KE 65 Senate & KE 68 Commons) until they ceased in print. For Bills since 2000, see LEGISInfo.
Alberta Bill are on first floor (KEA 270) or on the Alberta Legislature's website.
Canadian Current Law: Legislation (KE 173 C436. Reference) contains a summary of legislative activity in the legislatures of the provinces and territories of Canada. The "Progress of Bills" lists bills by province and alphabetically by titles of of the bill. The "Statutes Amended, Repealed or Proclaimed in Force" section lists recent developments in the legislative history of any federal or provincial statute that has been amended, repealed or proclaimed in force.

LEGISInfo

Alberta

Legislative Assembly of Alberta
Legislative Assembly of Alberta (1906 – present)

Print copies of the Alberta Bills are located on the first floor under Call # KEA 27

Bills - Other Provinces

Bills and Legislation
Legislative Assembly of British Columbia
Progress of Bills

Bills
Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

Progress of Bills

Legislative Assembly
Includes bills

Bills
Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories

Nova Scotia Legislature - Proceedings
Includes bills, Hansard, journals

Bills
Legislative Assembly of Nunavut

Legislative Assembly of Ontario
Includes bills, debates and proceedings

Legislative Assembly of PEI - House Records
Includes bills, Hansard, journals

Parliamentary Proceedings
National Assembly of Quebec - includes bill tracking

Legislative Business
Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan. Includes bills, Hansard, Journals

Yukon Legislative Assembly - House Business
Includes bills, Hansard and Journals

Debates / Hansard

Federal

Canadian Hansard Dataset (1901-present)
Fully searchable historical Hansard
Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada
Digital portal for historical House of Commons and Senate debates

Alberta

Alberta Hansard
1972 to present
Scrapbook Hansard (Alberta)
Scrapbook Hansard is an historical collection of newspaper clippings and a few speech transcripts covering Alberta's legislative debates from 1906 to 1971. Library staff began compiling articles as early as 1937 in order to retain a record of what transpired in the Assembly. Coverage includes the Throne Speech and debate, budget speech and debate, discussion of various bills introduced and passed in the House, and reports on the legislative discussion regarding issues of the day.