Arctic & Antarctic Regions is the world's largest collection of international polar databases. With over 1 million records from 1800 to the present, Arctic & Antarctic Regions covers a wide variety of sources from multiple disciplines. Many sources are indexed only in Arctic & Antarctic Regions making it the best resource for research on cold regions anywhere, from temperate regions with cold winters to the Himalayas of Tibet.
SPRI Library holds the world's largest collection of publications for Antarctica and the Southern Ocean. You may now search this collection on the Internet. There are currently around 43,450 records, listing works published from 1602 through to 2003. The database is periodically updated to include publications added recently to our collection. This database has been mounted with the assistance of the British Antarctic Survey. Publications too recent for SPRILIB Antarctica are listed in Polar and Glaciological Abstracts published by the Scott Polar Research Institute.
SPRI Library holds an exceptionally extensive collection of publications concerning northern Russia and Siberia. There are currently around 25,000 records, listing works published from 1671 through to 2003. The database will be periodically updated to include publications added recently to our collection. Publications too recent for SPRILIB Russian North are listed in Polar and Glaciological Abstracts published by the Scott Polar Research Institute.
The written literature about Inuit/Eskimo peoples is a rich resource of great value to today’s students, scholars, educators, researchers, and northern residents. Yet many of the most interesting and valuable accounts derived from early contact situations are rare, out-of-print, or otherwise unavailable—especially to northern communities. The goal of the Hubert Wenger Eskimo Database project has been to make many of these early and primary accounts more widely available through digital media.
Nearly 200 titles—primarily books and journal articles—have been included in the database and are uniformly searchable with powerful text-retrieval software.
Includes full text of stories, editorials, sports and other special features from all six NNSL newspapers: Nunavut news/North, Kivalliq news, Inuvik drum, Deh Cho drum, Northwest Territories news/North and the Yellowknifer.
Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.
Indexes monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and government publications covering native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research.
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Contains journals of mainly Canadian Native content. This index is a tool providing access to information about First Nations for students (high school or university), educators, instructors and researchers.
GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics, and development studies. The database provides current coverage of over 1,800 journals and archival coverage of 2,000 additional titles from 1980 onwards. GEOBASE contains more than 1.3 million records, spanning over twenty years to present, with 76,000 records added annually.
GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. Includes access to the GeoRef In Process database (so both databases can be searched at once) and GeoRef Preview database (on the AGI web site).
SCAR, the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research, is a committee of ICSU, the International Council for Science, and it is charged with the initiation, promotion and co-ordination of scientific research in Antarctica
Housed in the library of the Scott Polar Research Institute, the WDC for Glaciology, Cambridge, maintains a particularly comprehensive collection of publications covering all aspects of snow and ice worldwide. You may now search this collection on the Internet. There are currently around 40,000 records, listing works published from 1661 through to 2003. The database will be periodically updated to include publications added recently to our collection. Publications too recent for SPRILIB Ice and Snow are listed in Polar and Glaciological Abstracts published by the Scott Polar Research Institute.