This is the "Home" page of the "BUSN - Business Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library
Library -

BUSN - Business Law   Tags: business law  

Last Updated: Apr 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.ucalgary.ca/business_law Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Start your research in Business law

For additional information view the Law Library research guides.


Where to start:

Canadian business law  KF889 .C342 (Business Library Reference collection) 
Contents include: laws and law makers that affect business in Canada; resolving disputes and navigating Canada’s court system; tort law; contract law; the sale of goods and consumer protection law; methods of carrying on business; workplace law; property law; and banking, financing and debtor-creditor law

Business law in Canada  KF889 .Y38 (Business Library Reference collection)
Contents include: introduction to the legal system; the resolution of disputes; government regulation; torts; contracts; sales and consumer protection; priority of creditors; employment; agency and insurance; sole proprietorship and partnership; corporations; personal and real property; and intellectual property, computers, and the internet

Contemporary Canadian business law: principles & cases  KF889 .W57 (Business Library Reserve collection or Law Library)
Contents include: introduction to the law; torts; contracts; forms of business organization; fundamental business relationships; law of real property; debtor-creditor relationship and special legal rights and relationships

Canadian labour arbitration  KF3424 .B764 (Business Library Reference collection or Law Library)
Provides a convenient research tool for those involved in the administration of collective agreements

Legal aspects of international business: A Canadian perspective  KF1976 .N53 (Business Library Reference collection)
Covers legal aspects of international trade


In the U of C Collection:

Books (print and electronic)
Click on the links below to see a list of books in the library catalogue on the following subjects:
Business law
Commercial law
Contracts law
Corporations law
Employment law and legislation
Small business law and legislation

Here are some call numbers ranges for Business Law books in the Law Library. You can browse Law-Reserve and Law-Reference collections by call number.
Business Law KF1345 – 1480
Commercial Law KF705 – 1050
Computer Law KF390
Contracts Law KF801 – 869
Employment and Labour Law KF3301 – 3580

Journals (print and electronic)
See a comprehensive list of periodicals held by the University Library on the subject of Business law. 

Databases
Suggested search terms include: business law, commercial law, consumer protection, contract or contracts, labor or labour, law, laws and legislation, and liability.

ABI Inform Global  (U of C authentication required off-campus)
Search for articles in international business periodicals including newspapers, scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines.

Labour Spectrum (formerly: Canadian Labour Law Library  (U of C authentication required off-campus) 
Canadian Labour Law Library features the latest commentary from Brown and Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration, 4th Edition , the Labour Arbitration Cases (L.A.C.) and Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries (C.L.A.S.) , all linked by a comprehensive Master Table of Cases .

CCH Online (Use Internet Explorer)  (U of C authentication required off-campus) 
Provides access to Canadian federal and provincial legislation, case law, and commentary on topical areas in law including tax and accounting, financial planning, legal and business.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals  (U of C authentication required off-campus) 
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, produced by The American Association of Law Libraries, provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law. Coverage begins with 1985.

LegalTrac  (U of C authentication required off-campus)
LegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.

Hein-On-Line  (U of C authentication required off-campus)
Hein-On-Line includes collections such as: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements Library and much more. Also available in Hein-On-Line are: U.S. Congressional Documents, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, World Trials, Session Laws and many more electronic archives of law journals.

Omnifile  (U of C authentication required off-campus)
Includes Index to Legal Periodicals

WestlawECarswell  (U of C authentication required off-campus)
Includes Canadian Abridgement Digests; Index to Canadian Legal Literature; Canadian Encyclopedic Digest; Law Reports Articles and Journals.

Open access resources:

Selected Websites
Bennett Jones Law Library (University of Calgary)
Includes links to legal resources on the internet

Canadian Legal Information Institute
CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make
Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet.

Department of Justice
A sample of topics includes: access to information and privacy; anti-terrorism act review; criminal convictions review; criminal law reform; dispute resolution; electronic commerce; family law assistance; federal prosecutions; Francophonie, justice in official languages and legal dualism; international cooperation; legislative services; organized crime; program evaluation; public consultations; research and statistics; speakers bureau and trafficking in persons

Legislative Assembly of Alberta
Includes web links to the office of the lieutenant governor of Alberta, Alberta government, Alberta legislative offices, parliament and other assemblies, and Canadian government

Parliamentary Internet – LegisINFO
Provides information about individual federal bills

Best Guide to Canadian Legal Research (UBC)
Includes effective strategies and techniques for Canadian legal research which includes finding and using secondary sources, finding and analyzing cases, updating your research, legal writing, and legal research

O’Brien’s Internet
Provides access to Canadian legal forms and precedents 

International Investment Arbitration and Public Policy (Osgoode Hall Law School)
Open access to research and data on international investment arbitraton. Includes a database of known arbitration cases decided under investment treaties.

Business Library

Profile Image
Business Library team
Chat requires javascript
Contact Info
Business Library
Scurfield Hall 301
Reference Desk: 403-220-6113
Send Email
Subjects:
Business
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip