Map Resources
Map Tools
Conversion Tools
- Alberta Geological Survey Cartographic Tools
Choose Co-ordinate (Map) Converters: computes the conversion between Alberta Township System, latitude and longitude, and UTM coordinates - Degrees, Minutes, Seconds Conversion
Education in Physics and Mathematics site from Zona Land provdes theory and conversion tools - Natural Resources Canada Conversion Tools
Conversion tools for GPS, NAD and UTM - Latitude/Longitude
Latitude and longitude for cities, towns, and villages in any country - Baseloc - ATS LSD UTM Mapper
Free Alberta mapping utility providing co-ordinates with point and click. See also, GridAtlas. - Alberta Township System (ATS) Coordinate Search Tool from AltaLIS
This application was created to easily export points that define a section from the March 2005 Alberta Township System. Includes selection for 10TM, UTM and geographic projections, creating a list of bounding co-ordinates. - Township Canada
Convert Legal Land Descriptions to and from Geographical Locations - Map Warper
An online tool for georeferencing maps. Also allows the creation of mosaics for stitching together several maps. - Bounding Boxes
Show a bounding box around a city, state, country, or postal code using geocoding. - MapShaper
Convert and edit Shapefiles, GeoJSON, TopoJSON, DBF and CSV files, loose or zipped.
Distance Calculators
- Alberta Distances
This website uses calculates distance and time between Alberta cities and towns - Canadian Distance Guide
United Van Lines provides distance between major Canadian cities - Surface and great circle distances
Searches available for global locations, using lat/long and place names
Projections
- Map projections
Album of numerous map projections, published as U.S. Geological Survey Professional Paper 1453 - Choosing a Projection
Tutorial by J. Albrecht, Hunter College, NY, explains key concepts in choosing a projection, along with chart summarizing projection properties - Map Catalogers' Tool Box
Series of links and bibliographic references for map projections, scales, conversions and coordinate systems
Gazetteers & Place Names
- Geographical Names of Canada
Allows queries by name or location of the Canadian Geographical Names Data Base (CGNDB) which contains 500,000 records, over two-thirds of which are currently official names, as approved by the Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names (CPCGN) - Alberta Place Names
Searchable database available from Alberta Heritage Community Foundation and the Friends of Geographical Names of Alberta - JewishGen Shtetlseeker (Genealogical Resource)
Search for towns in Central and Eastern Europe by name or location - GEONet Names Server (GNS) by U.S. Board on Geographic Names
Provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names - Getty Thesaurus of Geographica Names (TGN)
TGN is a structured vocabulary currently containing around 1,102,000 names and other information about places and may include names in the vernacular language, English, other languages and historical names
Map Organizations
- ACMLA Homepage
Association of Canadian Map Library and Archives Website - WAML Map Librarian's Toolbox
Western Association of Map Libraries web page that organizes information on frequently asked questions related to Map Librarianship - British Map Curators Toolbox
An online source of information and help for map curators, librarians and archivists, sponsored by the Map Curators' Group of the British Cartographic Society
Outline Maps
- National Geographic Mapping Resources
Printable page-size maps from National Geographic - Outline maps of countries and continents of the world
Free blank outline maps
Citations
- ACMLA Best Practices in Citation of Cartographic Materials
A .pdf document, published in 2012 - Cartographic Citation
Guide to citing maps, atlases and aerial photographs provided by McMaster University - Citation Guide for Maps & Airphotos
Queen's University guide includes maps, airphotos, atlases and digital maps - How to Reference Geospatial Data, Maps, Atlases, Air Photos
Reference guide from Brock University - How to cite Statistics Canada Maps and Geospatial Products
Examples from the free online publication "How to cite Statistics Canada Products" (cat. no. 12-591-XWE)
Dictionaries & Factbooks
- Map terms
Glossary of cartographic/map terms provided by Maps for America, 3rd ed. - Geographic Dictionary
Dictionary Of Cartographic Abbreviations and Acronyms - World Facts
Learning resource for facts and maps about the world and individual countries - World Fact Book
Published by the CIA; contains maps, country profiles and factual data by country
Spatial and Numeric Data Services Home Page
Contact Information:
Spatial and Numeric Data Services
Rm 466, Taylor Family Digital Library
Telephone: 403-220-6822
Email: maps@ucalgary.ca