Sustainable Energy, Environment and Economy

Carbon Management Research

When searching in our catalogue and databases there are a variety of terms and phrases you can use depending on what you are looking for. Here are some suggestions that you can try out:

carbon dioxide - environmental aspects
carbon sequestration
carbon dioxide mitigation
greenhouse gas mitigation 
carbon capture
carbon management

Recommended Carbon related Journals in our Catalogue

Energy Policy
Environmental Science and Technology
Energy
International Journal of Environmental Studies

Canadian Web Resources

Alberta energy - Carbon Capture and Storage
Environment Canada  - Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators
Government of Canada - CO2 Capture and Storage Technology Roadmap 
Natural Resources Canada - National Energy Use Database
Petroleum Technology Research Centre - Weyburn - Midale CO2 Project
Pembina Institute - Carbon Capture and Storage
Climate Change Central - Carbon Capture and Storage Workshop Final Report

International Web resources

International Emissions Trading Association - click on"publications" and "information sources"
Carbon Sequestration Leadership Forum (CSLF) - US Department of Energy R & D Initiatives
Special Report on Carbon Dioxide Capture and Storage - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
Carbon Capture & Sequestration Technologies @ MIT - click on the "research" tab
Publications and data - Intergovermental Panel on Climate Change publications list and data
Eurpoean Commissioner for the Environment - excellent collection of international links to a vairety of NGO's, Think Tanks etc.
International Energy Agency - CO2 Capture and Storage

Carbon Trading

Chicago Climate Exchange - "North America's only cap and trade system for all six greenhouse gases, with global affiliates and projects worldwide."
Eurpoean Climate Exchange - "leading marketplace for trading carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions in Europe and internationally"
International Carbon Action Partnership - "is made up of countries and regions that have implemented or are actively pursuing the implementation of carbon markets through mandatory cap and trade systems."

Compendex
Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database covering journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings over the entire spectrum of engineering.

GeoRef
This is the premier database to search for resources in geology and geophysics.  Search for articles, theses, book chapters, conference proceedings, reports, open-files, and maps.  Coverage is international in scope.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 350 international periodicals, providing access to the general popular scientific journals.  Excellent for finding articles providing general overviews on topics.

SciFinder Scholar
Premier database from Chemical Abstracts Service, containing journal and patent literature. About 20% of this database is chemical engineering.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management  
Interdisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 5980 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Environment Complete   
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

ABI Inform Global    
Business and management database covering North America and the world with research on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers,and more.