Business EtiquetteCountry Information
International TradeImporting/ExportingTrade Agreements
International OperationsInternational Companies
This is the "Home" page of the "BUSN - International Business" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library
Library -
Resources on doing business in other countries, international trade, foreign markets and more
Last Updated: Jul 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ucalgary.ca/internationalbusiness Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

International Competitiveness

 

Top Picks

Economist Intelligence Unit (U of C authentication is required off-campus)

Country Reports, Country Commerce and Country Profile reports that include political and economic conditions and trends, operating conditions, commercial laws, business regulations, major industrial sectors, maps and economic data for countries around the world. Global Forecasting Service includes commodities, world trade, exchange rates, global risk and more.


EY/Passport: Doing Business In ...  (U of C authentication is required off-campus)

Country profiles provide an overview of the government structure, economic climate, business environment, labor force, investment climate, tax systems, forms of business organization and accounting practices.
 How to: Find "Doing Business In" reports in the EY/Passport database



OECD iLibrary (U of C authentication is required on and off-campus)

Includes books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases produced by the OECD and its special bodies. Find information by theme, by country or search by keyword. 


Doing Business (World Bank Group)  (Open Access)

Information on business regulations and other information essential to starting a business in over 180 economies around the world. Search by geographic region or topic.


Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada  (Open Access)

The “International Trade” link provides information on doing business abroad, trade negotiations and agreements, and export and import regulations. Click on "Trade Commissioner Service" and then the "Country Info" tab. The “Foreign Policy” link provides information about Canada’s role in the world, Canada's relations with other countries and other important global issues.


Political Risk Yearbook (Business Source Complete database(U of C authentication is required off campus) 

Electronic country reports for many countries; each report expertly assesses potential political, financial, and economic risks to business investments and trade. To access these reports, go the the Business Source Complete database and enter the country name and add the term "political risk yearbook". Scroll through the list of results to find the latest issue or change the "Relevance" sort to "Date descending".


GlobalEDGE (Michigan State University)  (Open Access)

The Resource Desk includes Market Potential Index for Emerging Markets and the Database of International Business Statistics. Country Insights provides valuable information on 199 countries and Industry Profiles provides extensive information on all major industries.


International Business and Economics (WWW Virtual Library) (Open Access)

Compiled by Dr. Wayne Selcher this site is a portal providing annotated links to authoritative resources on International Business including blogs, academic and research institutes, U.S. and Canadian government sites, business and commercial sites and international organizations.


NationMaster.com  (Open Access)

This website offers a huge centralized data source for statistics and information on many nations. Sources of data include the CIA World Factbook, U.N. and OECD.  The site is searchable and allows the user to generate maps and graphs to graphically compare nations. Use the tabs near the top of the screen to access information by vcountry, statistics etc.

 

Business Library

Profile Image
Business Library team
Chat requires javascript
Contact Info
Business Library
Scurfield Hall 301
Reference Desk: 403-220-6113
Send Email
Subjects:
Business
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip