Alberta Basketball TimelineArchivesBasketball BibliographyImages / AV / ArtefactsLinksOnline Publications
Communities ACommunities BCommunities CCommunities DCommunities ECommunities F - KCommunities L - MCommunities N - OCommunities P - RCommunities S - Z
Equine Sports ArchivesEquine Sports BibliographyEquine Sports LinksOnline Publications
Football/Rugby ArchivesFootball/Rugby BibliographyFootball/Rugby LinksImages / AV / ArtefactsOnline Publications
Online PublicationsRodeo ArchivesRodeo Bibliography
Ice Hockey ArchivesIce Hockey BibliographyIce Hockey LinksImages / AV / ArtefactsOnline Publications
Alberta Sport BibliographyOnline Publications
Baseball/Softball BibliographyOnline PublicationsBaseball/Softball Archives
Competitions / Championships BibliographyCompetitions / Championships Archives
Curling BibliographyCurling Online PublicationsCurling Statistics
Snow Sports BibliographySnow Sports Online Publicataions
This is the "Home" page of the "Alberta Sport History Project (ASHP)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library
Library -

Alberta Sport History Project (ASHP)  

Last Updated: Feb 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ucalgary.ca/albertasporthistory Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Alberta Sport History Project

 

Alberta Sport History Project

Home Page

Introduction


 

 In 2008, a province-wide sport history committee was established with representatives from Alberta’s tertiary institutions and the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museum staff and Board. Under the leadership of the Managing Director, Alberta Sports Hall of Fame & Museum, the Committee has considered ways to preserve and celebrate Alberta’s rich sport history and to protect and share this sport history with students, the public and researchers.

 
There are three ongoing projects supported by grants from the Alberta Heritage Resources Foundation. These projects include the production of an Alberta Sport History Bibliography, oral histories of athletes in the Lethbridge area and the writing of a history of swimming in Alberta.
 
On this beta test site are resources on the topics of:
ALBERTA SPORT (province-wide sport histories or multi-sport histories),
BASEBALL / SOFTBALL
BASKETBALL
COMMUNITY SPORT (Arranged by name of the community)
COMPETITIONS / CHAMPIONSHIPS
CURLING
EQUINE SPORTS (Includes polo, horse racing, show jumping, dressage, eventing and other equestrian sports),
FOOTBALL/RUGBY
ICE HOCKEY and
RODEO (Includes chuckwagon racing)

New citations and resources are added frequently. Other topics are also being researched and will be added in the ensuing months.
This site is the first step towards a more comprehensive website for the Alberta Sport History Project. 

Note that a keyword search may be utilized on this site. The search box is located below the blue tab bar at the top of this and all pages within the Alberta Sport History pages. This search box will find all occurrences of keywords in any parts of these subject pages.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip