(Open access) An excellent resource for country analysis, industry information, historical data retrieval and special reports. Look under "My Reports & Services" to find country reports and country commerce reports.
--Requires Internet Explorer for best results -- Electronic version of Ernst & Young's popular tax library offers a wealth of tax and business knowledge on more than 150 countries. Sections featured include: Doing Business In, The Global Executive, Worldwide Corporate Tax Guide, Worldwide VAT and GST Guide, Transfer Pricing Global Reference Guide, and Global Oil & Gas Tax Guide.
(U of C authentication is required on and off-campus) Includes books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases produced by the OECD and its special bodies. Find information by theme, by country or search by keyword.
(World Bank Group) (Open Access) Information on business regulations and other information essential to starting a business in over 180 economies around the world. Search by geographic region or topic.
(Open Access) The “Trade - Opening new markets" page provides information on doing business abroad, trade negotiations and agreements, and export and import regulations. Information by region is found in the "Countries and Regions" area. The “Foreign Policy” link provides information about Canada’s role in the world, Canada's relations with other countries and other important global issues.
(Via Business Source Complete database) To access these reports, go the the Business Source Complete database and enter the country name and add the term "political risk yearbook". Scroll through the list of results to find the latest issue or change the "Relevance" sort to "Date descending". Electronic country reports for many countries; each report expertly assesses potential political, financial, and economic risks to business investments and trade.
(Open Access) A portal that provides access to a wealth of information on global business activities. Includes extensive data at the global and country levels as well as information on major global industry groups. See "Insight Research by Country" to access country reports.
(WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources) (Open Access) Compiled by Dr. Wayne Selcher this site is a portal providing annotated links to authoritative resources on International Business including blogs, academic and research institutes, U.S. and Canadian government sites, business and commercial sites and international organizations.
(Open Access) This website offers a huge centralized data source for statistics and information on many nations. Sources of data include the CIA World Factbook, U.N. and OECD. The site is searchable and allows the user to generate maps and graphs to graphically compare nations. Use the tabs near the top of the screen to access information by vcountry, statistics etc.