Taylor Family Digital Library
Now open!
Visual & Performing Arts (VP Arts)
TFDL 3rd floor (Rm 330)
- Service desk for Music
- Collections:
- Music print reference
- Music collected sets
- Circulating music scores
- Chamber music parts
- Sound recordings: CDs, LPs...
- Video collection
- SAMPL service: music for choirs, jazz and wind ensembles/bands, & orchestras - Assistance with streaming video and audio, as well as e-books and e-journals
- Video viewing and sound recording listening facilities
TFDL General Collection for:
- Newer and heavily-used print books & journals
- Music books with ML and MT call numbers on 5th floor
For items not in the TFDL, place a HOLD as directed by Library Catalogue.
Centre for Arts & Culture - Special Collections:
TFDL 5th floor
- Richard Johnston Canadian Music Archives
Canadian music, musicians and composers of national and/or international stature, folk music research materials by Canadians well known in the field, and materials pertaining to the historical aspects of music education in Canada. - The Sheet Music Collection
Historical sheet music by Canadians, published in Canada, or sold by Canadian music stores - Offices of Archives and Special Collections staff
TFDL Learning Commons
- Service Desk - 1st floor
- Integrated reference and circulation services
- For research assistance of a general nature
- LCR staff
- Tech Support - 2nd floor
- IT staff
About the Music Subject Guide
This guide is intended to help you get started with your music research - including music history, composition, theory, performance and music education.
- General orientation to music collections and services
- Assignments and research papers
- Thesis and research literature review assistance
- Electronic databases, including identifying, accessing, searching, and retrieving full-text articles, scores and streamed music
- E.g. RILM - music periodical index
- E.g. 2 Classical Music Library - streamed music
- E.g. 3 Ebrary Music Scores - online scores
- Feedback on LCR services
- Book a LCR instruction class for your students and/or have an online handout prepared for a specific music course or assigment.
Recommend an Item for Purchase
Recommend an Item for Purchase
Students, faculty and staff can recommend a book, DVD, CD, music score, digital image or other item for purchase.
Donate to the Library
Donations of books, music scores and parts, CDs, DVDs, Canadian art ephemera, digital images with copyrights, and, of course, monetary donations are welcome!
Donated material must be in good condition and normally must not duplicate materials already held by LCR.
For further information, contact Molly Taylor, Gifts Coordinator, Collections, MLB425B, Libraries and Cultural Resources; phone: (403) 220-3797.
Canadian Music Centre
Canadian Music Centre
Rm 320, TFDL 3rd floor
- Home to the Violet Archer Library which contains over 14,000 scores by Canadian composers available for free circulation.
- Also offers Canadian composer information, CDs for sale or free listening, and selected books and music periodicals.
- The CMC Prairie Region office is still located on 9MLT however MLT is closed to the public with the move to the new building (TFDL). Please phone (403) 220-7403 or e-mail prairie@musiccentre.ca to arrange access to CMC collections.
Your VP Arts Team
Subjects: Videos, Images, Sound recordings, Music, Dance, Drama, Fillm Studies, Art, Architecture & Design |




Loading...
