The Arctic and the North
Rare Books and Special Collections Librarian
410 University Court NW
Calgary, AB
T2N 1N4
The Arctic and the North
Special Collections holds several collections of books related to the history, land, peoples, cultures, and resources of the Arctic and the North.
The Arctic Institute of North America, situated at the University of Calgary, has a large book collection managed by Libraries and Cultural Resources. The more rare and fragile of these works are held in Special Collections. Tens of thousands more are available as part of the circulating collection.
The Margaret P. Hess Collection has a strong focus on the geography, nature, history, peoples, and cultures of the Arctic and the North. As well, Dr. Hess collected many books on the art produced by Indigenous peoples of the North.
The Glenbow Library Collection includes many rare titles on the North.
N.B. It can be complicated to isolate materials from the Arctic Institute of North America's collection in the discovery system. Feel free to contact us if you need guidance.
Highlighted Collections
- Margaret P. Hess CollectionThe Margaret P. Hess Collection reflects the collecting activities and the intellectual pursuits of an educated and cultured woman. The books, periodicals, pamphlets, maps, posters and other print materials cover a broad range of subjects such as Western Canadian history, early travel and exploration, First Nations and Inuit art, major art movements and natural history. It provides an important and rare example of a complete library of a Canadian woman whose collecting interests spanned the 20th and 21st centuries. Dr. Hess has also donated important cultural artifacts such as a collection of Dene crafts and a whalebone carving.
Research Guide
- Northern Studies Research GuideA guide, prepared by Northern Studies librarian Nadine Hoffman, on locating information resources as they relate to the north and Arctic regions.
Arctic and Northern Studies Images
