This is the "Home" page of the "Southern Alberta Music Performance Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Southern Alberta Music Performance Library  

Last Updated: Jan 12, 2012 URL: http://libguides.ucalgary.ca/sampl Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Visual & Performing Arts

Now open!

Visual & Performing Arts (VP Arts)
TFDL 3rd floor

  • Main service desk for the SAMPL: Southern Alberta Music Performance Library
  • SAMPL service hours are the same as those of Visual & Performing Arts Hours however a more basic level of service is offered weekends and evenings.
 

Our U of C Partner:

 

Sponsors

We gratefully acknowledge the generous donation from The Calgary Foundation that has helped make this project possible.

 

Other Services/Collections to Note:

Music LibGuide

  • To learn about other music collections and services available in Libraries and Cultural Resources, University of Calgary
 

Southern Alberta Music Performance Library

SAMPL: Southern Alberta Music Performance Library service launched!   
We welcome your participation!

     

 SAMPL  is a collaborative community project developed to provide a supportive environment for sharing music scores and parts between music ensembles (choral,  jazz, wind, orchestral and band) in Calgary and region - that is, a performance music lending service.                                                    

Search the SAMPL collection
   

 

 The Collections:

The University of Calgary Department of Music  is generously sharing their performance collection of over 4,000 choral, jazz and wind ensemble, and orchestral music works to form the basis of the lending library. To further develop the collection, SAMPL will accept donations of performance music for sharing from other performing and educational institutions and/or individuals.

Reference scores and choral octavos are available for review in Visual & Performing Arts during regular hours.

 Access:

1,500 of the jazz and wind ensemble and choral works in the Department of Music's performance library are currently being catalogued on the University of Calgary Library Catalogue at http://library.ucalgary.ca or use search box above.  See What's in the SAMPL Collection tab above for details on searching for music in this collection. 

NOTE: 

  • See Circulation Policies tab above for details on obtaining a SAMPL borrower's card.
  • Non-UofC performing groups may borrow music in this collection that has already been catalogued on the Library Catalogue.
  • University of Calgary choir, jazz and wind ensemble, and orchestra directors may continue to access the entire collection however please request in advance to allow for cataloguing prior to borrowing.
  • An index to the base SAMPL collection has been  posted as an Excel file under the What's in the SAMPL Collection tab above until Library Catalogue records are available for the entire collection.

 About the SAMPL service model:

The SAMPL service model was developed collaboratively with representatives from community music ensembles and educational institutions in the Calgary area.  See composition of Steering Committee under Mission/Background 

The SAMPL service is hosted, coordinated and managed by Libraries and Cultural Resources, University of Calgary, in partnership with the Department of Music, University of Calgary, with pilot project funding from The Calgary Foundation Community Grants Program.

 

Donate to the Southern Alberta Music Performance Library collection!

Donations of music scores and parts suitable for performing ensembles (choirs, orchestras, bands...) and, of course, monetary donations are welcome!

Donated material must be in good condition.

For further information, contact Marilyn Nasserden, Chair, SAMPL Steering Committee, (403) 220-5324.

Your VP Arts Team

Profile Image
Visual & Performing Arts
Contact Info
330 Taylor Family Digital Library
Phone: (403) 220-6162
Fax: (403) 210-9129
Send Email
 

  Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip