This is the "Home" page of the "Sound Recordings" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sound Recordings  

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2011 URL: http://libguides.ucalgary.ca/sound-recordings Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Services/Collections to Note:

Fine Arts Reference Desk
9th floor, MacKimmie Library Tower

  • Main service desk for sound recordings

Canadian Music Centre
9th floor, MacKimmie Library Tower

  • Offers CDs for sale or free listening, as well as more...

Special Collections
12th floor, MacKimmie Library Tower

Richard Johnston Canadian Music Archives

  • Canadian music, musicians and composers of national and/or international stature, folk music research materials by Canadians well known in the field, and materials pertaining to the historical aspects of music education in Canada.
 

About the Sound Recording Guide

This guide is intended to help find sound recordings. The sound recording collection consists of:

  • Music sound recordings - classical music, musicals, opera, jazz, ethnic, and some popular.  For details, go to Music Libguide -  Sound Recording tab.
    • Two streaming music databases: DRAM and Classical Music Library
    • ~10,000 CDs
    • ~40,000 LPs
    • ~400 tape cassettes
  • ~1,500 spoken-word sound recordings on CDs, LPs, or cassettes.
    For details, go to tabs above on this web page
    • Accents for actors
    • Language-learning resources
    • Sound effects
    • Spoken word: e.g. Shakespearean play in audio

Search Library Catalogue for all spoken-word sound recordings formats: CDs, LPs and cassettes, located in various LCR locations however most are located in the Fine Arts mediated collections on 9LT (~1000 items) and the Doucette Library of Teaching Resources (>200). 

  • To retrieve only spoken-word recordings, limit search by Specialized Format to Spoken Word

For spoken-word sound recordings located in the Fine Arts mediated collections:

  • Present the call number to the Fine Arts Reference staff to retrieve and sign out the items for you.
  • Items signed out at the Fine Arts Reference desk must be returned to that same desk.

Note that increasingly audio is appearing in our Online Resources.  Of course, audio is inherent in video - see also Video LibGuide.

 

Donate to the Library

Donations of CDs, LPs, books, music scores and parts, DVDs, Canadian art ephemera, digital images with copyrights, and, of course, monetary donations are welcome!

Donated material must be in good condition and normally must not duplicate materials already held by LCR.

For further information, contact Molly Taylor, Gifts Coordinator, Collections, MLB425B, Libraries and Cultural Resources; phone: (403) 220-3797.

Your VP Arts Team

Profile Image
Visual & Performing Arts
Contact Info
330 Taylor Family Digital Library
Phone: (403) 220-6162
Fax: (403) 210-9129
Send Email
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip