Research

Biological Abstracts is just one of the full collection of life sciences content and tools available in Web of Science that will help you explore the literature, analyze trends, measure impact, and get the full research picture. It includes journal coverage of the life sciences, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology

BIOSIS Citation Index combines the carefully indexed life science coverage found in BIOSIS Previews (Biological Abstracts, Biosis Previews, Reports, Reviews, and Meetings) with the power of cited reference searching. Subject coverage is the same as that of BIOSIS Previews and includes traditional areas of biology like botany, zoology, and microbiology. Accesses content from journals, meetings, patents, and books relating to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

This collection consists of primary source documents on human behavioral control projects undertaken by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) and other U.S. government agencies from World War II – when the National Research Council first launched a project to identify and operationalize a “truth drug” for interrogations – to the 1970s, when many of the shocking details about the CIA’s MKUltra project were first revealed in the press and later in congressional investigations.

The Colonial State Papers offers access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery. It integrates material from Collection CO 1 from The National Archives (full name: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers) and the Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739. Full-text document types include letters of commission, petitions, articles of peace, lists of vessels and goods, reports of exploration, and complaints of disputes.

This database gathers primary source material from the former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, along with some from former French and Portuguese territories, documenting decolonization, trade union, and political movements around the world. After the Second World War, decolonization movements around the world gathered pace, and from the small port colony of Aden to the vast Indian sub-continent, new borders were set, and new nations built.

A fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the twentieth century. It is based on three distinct print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the nineteenth century: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas 1946-present. Documents are selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, with many documents specifically declassified for inclusion.

Early European Books provides scholars with new ways of accessing and exploring all works printed in Europe before 1701, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources which also includes a number of items printed further afield. Developed and produced in close collaboration with scholars, rare book librarians, bibliographers, and other experts from the library world, this resource opens the door to some of the world's most significant holdings of early printed books.All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, as do all pre-1701 works in European languages printed elsewhere. Early European Books builds upon and complements Early English Books Online (EEBO) and is largely concerned with non-Anglophone materials. Books in English or printed in the English-speaking world that are already represented in EEBO are nevertheless included in Early European Books where they form an integral element of library holdings made available for digital capture. Early European Books offers full-colour, high-resolution (400 ppi) facsimile images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is captured in its entirety, complete with its binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and any loose inserts, providing scholars with a wealth of information about the physical characteristics and provenance histories of the original artefacts. Early European Books will be issued as a series of collections, each offering access to the early printed books of one or more major libraries. These collections will build to form a seamless and increasingly comprehensive survey of printing in Europe to 1701.

Starting in the late nineteenth century, in direct response to the Industrial Revolution, forces in social and political spheres across the globe struggled to balance the good of the public and the planet against the economic exploitation of resources.... Discover the impact of colonialism, land use and exploitation, exploration, agriculture, industrial change and urbanization, pollution, and industries such as forestry and mining on the United States and regions worldwide into the late twentieth century. In Gale’s Environmental History series, researchers can explore unique primary sources that trace the evolution of land rights, resource usage, trade rules, and environmental protections that mark the beginning of the modern conservation movement.

Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, building a critical understanding of the relationship between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field of Environmental Studies, content is drawn from the social sciences, ecology and earth science, and the humanities.

More than 3,000 issues comprising the run of the renowned newsweekly, The Far Eastern Economic Review (1946-2009). Known for its authoritative reporting, this publication was devoted to many facets of the Asia-Pacific region, including politics, economics, international relations, and the arts/culture. Following an initial emphasis on China and Hong Kong, the scope of the magazine’s coverage subsequently expanded to encompass other regions and countries, including Japan, India and Australia, as well as smaller Asian states.

Online video encyclopedias of advanced research experiments for scientists in academia and biotech.

The Mail on Sunday was established in 1982 under the same ownership but editorially separate from the Daily Mail. Now, four decades of British and world history can be explored online through the full run of this generally conservative, sometimes sensationalist tabloid paper and its supplements. The Mail on Sunday presents detailed reporting and analysis of events in British history from the premiership of Margaret Thatcher to that of David Cameron, and of world events from the Falklands War to international terrorism in the early 21st century. Launched as the Sunday sister paper to the Daily Mail under the ownership of Lord Rothermere, the Mail on Sunday had three different editors in its first year – initially under Bernard Shrimsley, the paper was taken over by David English, then-editor of the Daily Mail, in order to boost circulation after a disappointing launch. Finally, Stewart Steven was appointed to the role, where he remained for a decade, significantly growing circulation. The digitized editions of this staple Sunday paper provide the researcher with reporting, analysis and commentary on nearly four decades of politics and foreign affairs, popular culture, financial and business news, entertainment and sport, and represent a key part of the British media.

National Defense University Press is the academic publishing house of National Defense University, a higher education instutute funded by the U.S. Department of Defense. The National Defense University Press publishes books, journals, and monographs aimed at national security professionals on joint and integrated operations, and are used both in Joint Professional Military Education and across the federal sector. HeinOnline's partnership with National Defense University Press brings its full archive of publications into HeinOnline's user-friendly platform. Publications are divided across six publication types as defined by National Defense University Press: Books, Case Studies, Occasional Papers, Policy Briefs, Serials, and Strategic Monographs. Additionally, publications are subject-coded to assist researchers in quickly locating relevant titles from search results. New content is added on a routine basis.

Power to the People showcases a range of ideas, initiatives, and social movements devoted to people-powered politics and organizing from the nineteenth through twenty-first centuries. Ranging beyond a few specific movements, the archive paints a broad picture of the counterculture and many disparate organizations that represent this moment in modern Western history. Although the archive concentrates mainly on the United States and the United Kingdom, it also covers events and topics from around the globe.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: Evening star (1894-1900), Toronto daily star (1900-1971), Toronto star (1971-2009), Toronto star (2010- recent).

The Data Axle (formerly Infogroup) Historical Canadian Business dataset provides establishment-level information on businesses in Canada at the national, provincial, territorial, and forward sortation area levels. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses.

Scite is a cutting-edge research tool that uses artificial intelligence to analyze and provide insights into scientific literature. By leveraging its "Smart Citations" feature, Scite offers a more nuanced understanding of citations by categorizing them as supporting, contrasting, or mentioning the cited work. This enables researchers to easily identify how different studies relate to each other and track the evolution of specific scientific concepts. Scite also has a ChatGPT-like generative AI tool that lets you ask questions in plain language and get answers with references.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 125,000 pages of text and 50 hours of video at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics.

Trade and Globalization Studies Online examines the history of trade, trade policies, financial crises, emerging markets and technological innovations that unite the world in an ever-changing system of trade. The collection gathers books, case studies, archival materials and documentaries to provide historical context and insights. Users can explore the societal impact of global trade by browsing on global themes, events and areas, subjects, and much more.

This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South. It shows how women have negotiated power and status regarding private or public programs centered on their rights and social inclusion. Stressing the historical problem of the “feminization of poverty,” coupled with women’s invisibility within most foreign aid regimes and approaches to technical assistance, the project documents how women and their allies worked to balance economic growth and social improvement while navigating equity and the fairer allocation of resources. Accompanying essays by leading scholars in the field outline and critique significant shifts in approaches to development, including that of a gendered “post-development” perspective.

Women and social movements in modern empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women's voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. Also contains numerous online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations and also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women's international social movements.

The First World War had a revolutionary and permanent impact on the personal, social and professional lives of all women. Their essential contribution to the war in Europe is fully documented in this definitive collection of primary source materials brought together in the Imperial War Museum, London. These unique documents - charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations - are published here for the first time in fully-searchable form, along with interpretative essays from leading scholars. Together these documents form an indispensable resource for the study of 20th-Century social, political, military and gender history.