Research

This collection provides researchers with a trove of revealing primary documents during the key periods of the 20-year U.S. war in Afghanistan. Largely the product of decades of FOIA requests and appeals, these records obtained from the State Department, CENTCOM, the DIA, and other agencies detail many of the problems that bedeviled the American-led occupation, including reconstruction efforts, diplomatic relations with the Afghan government, Pakistan's double-sided games, Taliban-al Qaeda relations, corruption, and narcotics. This collection consists of 2,261 documents totaling approximately 14,353 pages. While the bulk of the documentation was produced between 2001 and 2011, the collection also encompasses events during both the first Afghan Civil War (1992-1996) and the second Afghan Civil War (1996-2001). The collection also bookends the Digital National Security Archive’s first Afghanistan collection, Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973-1990, and represents the culmination of over 35 years of work by the National Security Archive’s Afghanistan project.

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (C19 Index) is a vast resource that forms the bibliographic spine of 19th century research. It comprises tens of millions of records and provides integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers, archives, and reference material. This database offers a unique range of content through its combination of essential third-party indexes digitized under license, the index records from major proprietary ProQuest resources, and indexes published in the nineteenth century that have been made newly searchable through inclusion in C19 Index.

The backfiles of over 30 periodicals concerning the 20th-century history of the British Empire, decolonization, and the history and culture of former colonies. This archive offers a mixture of British publications about the empire and titles published in Commonwealth countries (Australia, New Zealand, India, Canada, South Africa, and Papua New Guinea). Coverage ranges from the late-19th century to the 21st – these publications encompass the key events in the empire's later phase and its post-independence legacies. Key events in colonial history, including the latter stages of the Scramble for Africa, the world wars independence movements, the creation of the Commonwealth, and more are highlighted. Publications include official publications as well as more popular titles covering the arts, society, and general interests.

Consisting of rare archival materials that document everyday life in eighteenth- to twentieth-century Britain with full color, high-resolution images, the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera resides in the Bodleian Library of Oxford, England. This database of scanned items provides direct access to rare primary source materials-- images and text--evidence of Britain’s cultural, social, industrial, and technological heritage. The online collection benefits not only those working across a broad range of academic disciplines but also the wider learning public who would not otherwise have access to this important record of the past. Ephemera have a multitude of applications to research and teaching and are now very much valued by the scholarly community as uninterpreted documents of the past. There are more than 65,000 items drawn from five subject areas: crimes, murders and executions; advertising; book trade; nineteenth-century entertainment; and popular prints. This database also includes a short video about the John Johnson Collection project.

Discover over 26,000 works by 1,125 associate composers. Most scores can be previewed in their entirety online. Stream over 12,000 archival sound recordings on Centrestreams. Search by instrument by browsing the catalogue by a specific or combination of instruments.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easilty-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: Daily phoenix (1907-1912), Phoenix (1906-1906), Saskatoon daily star (1912-1928), Saskatoon phenix (1902-1905), Saskatoon phoenix (1912-1928), Saskatoon star-phoenix (1928-1967), Saskatoon sun (1991-2009). and Star-phoenix (1967-2009).

African American Police League Records, 1961-1988 contains annual and general reports, court files, fundraising items, historical information, minutes, correspondence, clippings, topical files, newsletters, police brutality files, and publications and flyers relative to the ongoing work of the African American Police League (AAPL) and its education and action arm, the League to Improve the Community (LIC). The collection also contains items on numerous law enforcement and civil rights organizations across the country; materials on the suspension of AAPL executive director Renault Robinson from the Chicago Police Department and related lawsuits; and materials pertaining to the National Black Police Association (NBPA).

As leader of the American Federation of Labor, Samuel Gompers (1850-1924) championed a set of tactics and an ideology, rooted in craft-union traditions, which profoundly shaped the course of American labor history. Over 350,000 pages of union documentation throw light on the momentous struggles within the American labor movement during and just after the Samuel Gompers era. Most of the records in the collection date from the formation of the AFL in 1886 until Gompers' death in December 1924, but there are a few materials from before 1886 and after 1924. One of the strengths of this collection is its documentation of Gompers' own activities. Gompers' general correspondence, speeches and writings, conferences, and congressional testimony make up a major portion of the collection. In addition, the National and International Union Correspondence consists largely of letters to and from Gompers. The materials in this collection reveal the personalities, issues and ideas that forged the modern American labor movement.

At a conference of prominent American liberals and labor leaders held in New York City on May 9-10, 1941, the Union for Democratic Action (UDA) was formally organized. The purpose of the new organization was to initiate a two-front fight against fascism, both at home and abroad. After World War II and the November 1946 elections, James Loeb Jr., national director of UDA, joined by Leon Henderson, Wilson W. Wyatt, Hubert H. Humphrey, and others, called for a convention of democratic progressives to meet in Washington, D.C., on January 4, 1947. Two days later, they formed Americans for Democratic Action (ADA). The ADA established itself as a strong national, independent, liberal organization based on American tradition. It proclaimed itself to be an organization for progressive individuals dedicated to the achievement of freedom and economic security for all people everywhere, through education and democratic action. The Americans for Democratic Action Records trace the evolution of the organization as it supported civil rights, the united international control of atomic energy, and global democracy. The collection contains records of campaigns on vital issues such as equal rights, disarmament, the Vietnam War, inflation, and unemployment.

This module consists of two major series of records: CIA Research Reports from 1946-1976 and records collected by Raymond Murphy on Communism in China and Eastern Europe from 1917-1958. Beginning in 1946 with reports of the CIA's predecessor, the Central Intelligence Group, CIA Research Reports reproduces over 1,500 reports on eight areas: Middle East; Soviet Union; Vietnam and Southeast Asia; China; Japan, Korea, and Asian security; Europe; Africa; and Latin America. This series deals with international questions and biographical reports, offering profiles of relatively unknown leaders. The Murphy Collection provides information on war recovery efforts, international aid, and the formation of countries and substantial information on the Chinese Communist Party.

Following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II in December 1941, the Roosevelt administration decided that for reasons of “military necessity,” the government would evacuate all persons of Japanese heritage from the West Coast states. The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.

John A. Ryan was the foremost social justice advocate and theoretician in the Catholic Church during the first half in the 20th century. Ryan was a Professor of Political Science and Professor of Moral Theology at the Catholic University of America from 1915 until 1939 and Director of the National Catholic Welfare Council's Social Action Department during its first 25 years, from 1920 until his death in 1945. Ryan’s relationship with President Franklin D. Roosevelt and the New Deal both personally and politically garnered him the nickname "Right Reverend New Dealer." The John A. Ryan Papers span from 1892 to 1945, with a heavy focus on the last twenty years of his life, 1925 to 1945. Most of the collection consists of Ryan’s correspondence, focusing on the Catholic Church, politics, and Ryan’s writings, speaking engagements, and personal matters. The Ryan Papers also include articles, sermons, reports, pamphlets, lecture notes, scrapbooks, and a personal journal.

Latino Civil Rights During the Carter Administration gives rich insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of U.S. government to reach out to the burgeoning Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration. In the summer of 1979, the Carter Administration created the White House Office of Hispanic Affairs in order to address issues of critical importance to the Latino community. The coming decade of the 1980s was being hailed as 'the Decade of the Hispanic,' and many were looking to the president and Congress to show more respect for Latinos and their manifold contributions to the United States. Major topics covered in this collection include inflation, bilingual education, police brutality, political unrest in Latin America, Haitian refugees, and immigration (legal and otherwise), Puerto Rican self-determination, and the U.S. Navy's use of Vieques Island. Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration also documents some of the most important Latino organizations of the time, including LULAC, TELACU, La Raza, the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund, the Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund, and the American G.I. Forum.

Publication of the first release of Queen Victoria's Journals marked not only the anniversary of Queen Victoria's birth (24 May 1819), but also the Diamond Jubilee celebrations of HM Queen Elizabeth II. This project makes available online digital images of every page in the entire sequence of Queen Victoria's diaries, and provides full transcriptions and keyword searching of all journal entries. The Queen Victoria's Journals resource is the product of a unique partnership between the Bodleian Libraries and the Royal Archives, working in collaboration with the online publisher ProQuest. This website reproduces as high-resolution colour images every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages. Each page has also been meticulously transcribed and re-keyed, allowing for the journals to be searched. A number of specially-commissioned essays have also been included in this resource, to further support the study and understanding of Queen Victoria and her world. There are four different versions of the Journal - the original which she wrote herself; a manuscript, abridged transcript written by the Queen's youngest daughter, Princess Beatrice; a typed transcript prepared for Lord Esher; and some draft volumes written by the Queen. None of these versions covers the whole period, from 1832 to 1901. Of the Queen's original Journals, only 13 small purple and marbled volumes survive, covering the period from 1832 to 1836. The final volume originally included entries for the early months of 1837 also, but once Princess Beatrice had transcribed these, she removed the pages from this volume and destroyed them.

HeinOnline's Water Rights & Resources is dedicated to understanding the complex interplay of state and federal laws that govern all aspects of water in society, from its municipal use to restoring its pristine condition. Collecting congressional documents, books, legislative histories on major legislation, and Supreme Court briefs on related cases, this collection touches on a wide range of water issues. Topics covered include irrigation, hydropower, water conservation, drinking water quality, and tribal water rights.

Preprint Citation Index allows for the discovery of preprints for key research articles ahead of the formal publication in a journal from a range of international selected and evaluated preprint repositories in the sciences, social sciences and arts & humanities. Discover preprints connected to author profiles and peer reviewed literature in the Web of Science. Link directly to the preprint repositories to view each version of the preprint and download full text. Track citation activity for the preprint and link to the citation network in Web of Science.