The backfiles of a variety of 20th-century serials covering many aspects of children's lives and interests. These include titles focusing on education, entertainment / literature, news, and religion / moral development. As well as shedding light on the history of childhood and family life during this period, these titles provide alternative perspectives in the study of 20th-century advertising/marketing, popular culture, education, media, and print culture.
Contemporary Anthropology: Archaeological Fieldwork and Methods brings together archival and textual material relating to archaeological excavations, methods, and practices done in the late 20th century to present day. It provides insights into the lives, cultures, and societies of ancient and not-so-distant civilizations through the analysis of material remains and artifacts from the past. This collection allows researchers and students to use archival material and published works to better understand, analyse, and critique archaeological research. Featured in this collection is the The Cusichaca Trust Archive sourced from the Senate House Library, University of London. Led by archaeologist Ann Kendall, the Trust did numerous excavations in the South-Central Andes from 1980s-2010s. The archaeology, archaeobotany and ethnohistorical work focused on human occupation of the area from the late first millennium BC, through Inca expansion and into the Spanish Colonial period.
Gale OneFile: Australia and New Zealand provides authoritative, full-text content with a regional focus, complemented by global news, reference, and multimedia coverage. The database features a variety of magazines, journals, news, and multimedia sources across academic disciplines and areas of interest, covering important issues and current events related to Australia and New Zealand. Subjects covered: arts and humanities, business and industry, economics, health & medicine, history, journalism, language and linguistics, political science, science & technology, and social sciences
The American Jewish Congress, founded in 1918 under the leadership of Louis Brandeis, Felix Frankfurter, and Rabbi Stephen S. Wise, is one of the most important organizations dedicated to advocating for the interests of the American Jewish community and defending the civil rights of all Americans. The American Jewish Congress Records span from 1915-2009 and document the American Jewish Congress's impact on the United States legal system, civil rights and liberties, the fight against discrimination and antisemitism, and support for the State of Israel. The records of the American Jewish Congress are digitized by ProQuest from the holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society. This module represents the first seven series of the collection, covering the history of the American Jewish Congress, the proceedings of its governing committees, the files of the Executive Directors, and records of the organization's national conventions.
Socialist & Radical Periodicals provides access to the backfiles of a variety of serials reflecting the 20th/21st-century history of a variety of movements and ideologies on the political left; these titles include Marxist, socialist, communist, social democratic, and Fabianist publications. Among these publications are major titles from the US and the UK. The Monthly Review, launched in 1949, is the oldest still-published US socialist magazine and a key resource for examining over seven decades of the political and intellectual history of the American left. The archive encompasses the left's response to the economic and political challenges in the US after World War II, the McCarthy era, the emergence of the New Left movement, and contemporary issues and trends such as neoliberalism, globalization, and the implications of technology for the labor market. Marxism Today, published from 1957 to 1991, was launched as the magazine of the Communist Party of Great Britain. The archive captures the ways in which the magazine attempted initially to promote orthodox Marxist thought before proceeding to reappraise and modernize these theories in response to changing political and socioeconomic contexts (notably, Thatcherism during the 1980s).... Similarly, Fabian News / The Fabian Review, from its launch in 1891, has had a key role in the evolution of progressive thought and policy, advocating for democratic socialism, economic equality, and social reform for over 30 years. Its major contributors have included George Bernard Shaw, Beatrice Webb, Sidney Webb, and H.G. Wells. In combination the publications document the history of leftist politics / radicalism, labor, economics, and international relations during this period, as well as the related historical, political, and cultural events of their time. The collection will support research and teaching not only in these areas, but also in related fields such as philosophy, intellectual / cultural history, and women's and gender studies.
