- Find Books
- Find ArticlesToggle Dropdown
- Evaluating Sources
- Search Guides for Canadian Indigenous Topics
- Indigenous Information Literacy Tutorials and Pressbook
- Primary Sources for Canadian and American Indigenous Studies
- Sources for World Wide Aboriginal Studies
- Research Tools for Faculty and Graduate Students
- Indigenous Library Information including Canadian Federation of Library Associations
- University of Calgary Indigenous Strategy
- Ithaka S&R Indigenous Studies Project
- Indigenous Reading Lists
- Truth and Reconciliation Updates
- Contact the Indigenous Librarian
International Indigenous Studies Topics
Indigenous Studies are, by their very nature, worldwide in scope and interdisciplinary in character. Libraries and Cultural Resources have a wide variety of materials to support research and teaching in this area - books, journal articles, video, microforms, art, and artifacts. You will find resources that focus not only on Canadian Indigenous resources but resources for study of Indigenous peoples around the world. For additional help, contact your Indigenous Studies Librarian.
Research Portals: Canadian and North American Indigenous Studies
- iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research ToolThe Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. The vision of the Indigenous Studies Portal is to provide one place to look to find resources for Indigenous studies. This is a major undertaking and we have only just begun.The Indigenous Studies Portal is an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library.
- First Nations Information ConnectionFirst Nations portal connects anyone interested in First Nations issues to a multitude of reliable and regularly updated web resources, digitized photographs and artifacts, aboriginal health information, historical and scientific information, reference and community resources.The 5 customized OPACs for the member College and University libraries of First Nation Information Connection can be seen below.
• Blue Quills First Nations College: https://bluequills-fnic.bywatersolutions.com
• Maskwacis Cultural College: https://maskwacis-fnic.bywatersolutions.com/
• Old Sun Community College: https://oldsun-fnic.bywatersolutions.com
• Red Crow College Library: https://redcrow-fnic.bywatersolutions.com
• Yellowhead Tribal College: https://ytced-fnic.bywatersolutions.com/
- Native-Land.caOur Mission
We strive to map Indigenous lands in a way that changes, challenges, and improves the way people see the history of their countries and peoples. We hope to strengthen the spiritual bonds that people have with the land, its people, and its meaning.
We strive to map Indigenous territories, treaties, and languages across the world in a way that goes beyond colonial ways of thinking in order to better represent how Indigenous people want to see themselves. We provide educational resources to correct the way that people speak about colonialism and indigeneity, and to encourage territory awareness in everyday speech and action.
- Glenbow Western Research Centre: Glenbow Library and ArchivesThe centre is the new access point for the university’s Archives and Special Collections including the remarkable Glenbow Library and Archive, the premiere collection that documents the history of Western Canada.
- Indigenous Law Portal: mapping American Indian constitutions and Legal Materials: United States. The immensely useful Indigenous Law Portal brings together free primary source law documents from the Law Library of Congress and from nearly 340 tribes in Indian country. Indian law, which is multifaceted and complex, encompasses federal law, state law, and tribal self-governance documents created and maintained by each recognized tribe. Another feature is a link to General Resources for Indigenous Law, organized alphabetically by topic (e.g., Environmental Law, NGOs).
- Indigenous Law Portal: Canada Covers all Canada from the Law Library of Congress
- Indigenous Law Portal: Mexico: Covers all Mexico from the Law Library of Congress.
- Indigenous Law Portal: Global includes United Nations, and Global Indigenous Organizations
Aboriginal Film Collection
This nationally-significant film collection documents a part of Canadian history and national life, especially as it pertains to the production of fiction and documentary films and television programs on the history and development of the First Nations. The date range of the collection is 1946 to 1988, with most titles falling between 1973 and 1985. Thanks to a grant from the Alberta Foundation for the Arts, selected titles have been converted to DVD.
- Indigenous spiritualities research guideResearch guide links to resources on the study of Indigenous spiritualities
- Last Updated: Nov 15, 2022 1:39 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/indg
- Print Page