Indigenous Studies
Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods is an innovative fulltext online tool designed to assist researchers, faculty and students with their research, particularly in the social sciences. SRM focuses on methodoogy. It currently contains over 640 books, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and more. To find out more about SRM and how to use it please go to the Sage Research Methods LibGuide
To access the database please click http://srmo.sagepub.com.ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/ or go to Search collections/databases and search for Sage Research Methods.
Indigenous Methodologies by ISBN: 9781442640429Publication Date: 2009-11-07What are Indigenous research methodologies, and how do they unfold? Indigenous methodologies flow from tribal knowledge, and while they are allied with several western qualitative approaches, they remain distinct. These are the focal considerations of Margaret Kovach's study,which offers guidance to those conducting research in the academy using Indigenous methodologies.Kovach includes topics such as Indigenous epistemologies, decolonizing theory, story as method, situating self and culture, Indigenous methods, protocol, meaning-making, and ethics. In exploring these elements, the book interweaves perspectives from six Indigenous researchers who share their stories, and also includes excerpts from the author's own journey into Indigenous methodologies. Indigenous Methodologies is an innovative and important contribution to the emergent discourse on Indigenous research approaches and will be of use to graduate students, professors, and community-based researchers of all backgrounds - both within the academy and beyond.
Reference Tools
Handbook of North American Indians by Call Number: E77 .H264 v. 2, v. 4-15 TFDL Reference collection main floorISBN: 9780160803888Publication Date: 2008-07-28
Indigenous Research Methodologies - Library Research Guides
- Indigenous Research methodologies - Research Guides at University of British ColumbiaThis research guide provides strategies for finding resources about and exemplars of Indigenous research methodologies
- Indigenous Research Guide University of AlbertaThe purpose of this guide is to provide researchers both Indigenous and non-Indigenous with the tools, information, and support that they need to conduct ethical, and reciprocal research with Indigenous communities.
Indigenous research methodology resources
- First Nations Information Governance CentreThe First Nations Information Governance Centre is an independent, apolitical, and technical non-profit organization operating with a special mandate from the Assembly of First Nations’ Chiefs-in-Assembly (Resolution #48, December 2009)