BUSN - Corporate Social Responsibility/Business Ethics
Institutional Shareholders Service (Formerly RiskMetrics)
- "includes a range of variables related to individual board directors (e.g., name, age, tenure, gender, committee memberships, independence classification, primary employer and title, number of other public company boards serving on, shares owned, etc.). This data collection began in 1996 and is updated annually. The current universe is the S&P 1500 companies, which has continued since 1996, although in earlier years the data was captured for a few hundred additional large-cap companies as well."
Corporate Governance Resources
- Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility(Open Access)
Find current Socially Responsible Shareholder Resolutions by company and environmental performance by sector. The website also provides current CSR issues, news and more.
- Canadian Coalition for Good Governance(Open Access)
This coalition represents major Canadian institutional investors and promotes good governance practices in Canadian public companies and the improvement of the regulatory environment. An excellent source of information on executive compensation, guidelines and position papers re: corporate governance, best practices re: corporate governance, reports, useful links (including links to legal and regulatory information), and news.
- Canadian Business for Social Responsibility(Open Access)
CBSR provides socially responsible business solutions to many of Canada's leading corporations.
- The Directors Series (CPA Canada)(Open Access)
This series of booklets addresses many subjects of importance to directors.
- WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new windowLook for the database Institutional Shareholder Services in the WRDS portal. The U of C subscribes to the Directors and Directors Legacy modules.Wharton Research Data Services, or WRDS, is a comprehensive web-based data management system that allows faculty and students to easily retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. WRDS is best known for its holdings of historical financial data from CRSP and COMPUSTAT. This data covers over 30,000 companies and includes security prices and trading volume, income and balance sheet items. Provides access to IBES' analyst projections for earnings and sales. WRDS also contains stock market indices, bond prices and interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, and a wide array of macroeconomic time series. International data, marketing and industry reports, and web usage data are also available on WRDS.
- IRRC Institute (Investor Responsibility Research Center Institute)(Open Access)
Find research reports on corporate governance and responsibility.
- Spencer Stuart Board IndexesLatest editions of a series of board indexes including the Canadian Board Index, U.S. Board Index, Retail & Apparel Board Index, U.K. Board Index, Hospitality & Leisure Board Index and more. Also includes the report: "2018 Governance Outlook"
- Center for Board Governance (PricewaterhouseCoopers)(Open Access)
Find information on key boardroom issues, board diversity, and access to governance related publications.
- Clarkson Centre for Business Ethics(Rotman School of Management) (Open Access)
The Clarkson Centre for Business Ethics advances academic research on issues pertaining to ethics in business, including topics such as ethical decision-making, ethical leadership, and ethical cultures in organizations.
- CatalystThe mission of this nonprofit organization is to create more inclusive workplaces where employees representing every dimension of diversity can thrive. Catalyst has done extensive work on diversity in the Boardroom.
The "Knowledge Center" tab is helpful to locate relevant resources. "Disrupt the Default" tab provides access to information on board diversity.
- Board Accountability in Corporate Governance by Andrew KeayCall Number: Electronic bookISBN: 9780415725538Publication Date: 2015-06-29
To access data on executive compensation use the following databases:
- S & P Capital IQAccess is limited to current staff, students, and faculty. An account must be requested from Rhiannon JonesThe S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.
- SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval) This link opens in a new windowAll securities filings for companies trading on Canadian stock exchanges. Filing with SEDAR started January, 1997. Executive compensation is often provided in the Proxy Statement.
All securities filings for companies trading on Canadian stock exchanges.
SEDAR is the system used for electronically filing most securities related information with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities. Filing with SEDAR started January 1, 1997, and is now mandatory for most reporting issuers in Canada.
- Coverage is from January 1, 1997 to the present.
- Includes fulltext or scanned images of filings.
- EDGAR This link opens in a new windowFilings for Canadian, International, and U.S. companies trading on American stock exchanges. Executive compensation data may be found in the Annual Proxy Statement (Schedule 14A)Filings for Canadian, International, and U.S. companies trading on American stock exchanges.
- Coverage is for the previous four years.
- Includes fulltext of filings.
- Last Updated: Feb 9, 2023 1:04 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/CSR
- Print Page