Holocaust Studies
Dictionary & Encyclopedia Sources
Digital:
Encyclopaedia Judaica. New York: Macmillan, 16 v. - also available in print BM50 .E52 2007
- comprehensive coverage of the Holocaust
- contains two excellent articles on the Holocaust
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust New York: Macmillan, 1995. - also available in print. D804.3 .E52 1990
The Holocaust encyclopedia / William Laqueur. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001. - also available in print
D804.25 .H65 2001
Holocaust literature: an encyclopedia of writers and their work / Sl Lillian Kremer. New York, NY: Routledge, 2003- also available in print: PN56 .H55 H66 2003
- provides access to writers via critical essays, bibliographies and the critical reception of their works
Yivo Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
Print:
The Columbia reference guide to the Holocaust / Donald Niewyk. New York: Columbia University Press, 2000. D804.3 .N54 2000
Dictionary of the Holocaust: biography, geography, and terminology / Eric Joseph Epstein and Philip Rosen; foreword by Henry R. Huttenbach. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. D804.25 .E65 1997
Encyclopedia of German resistance to the Nazi movement. New York: Continuum Books, 1997. DD256.5 .L4913 1997
The Encyclopedia of Jewish life before and during the Holocaust. Jerusalem: Yad Vashem; New York: New York University Press, 2001. 3 v. DS135 .E8 E45 2001
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust (The). New York: Facts on File, c2000. D804.25 .E53 2000
The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich. New York: Macmillan, 1991. 2 v. DD256.5 .G7613 1991
- people, oranizations, jargon, events, movements, policies, culture of German history, 1933-45
- 22 overview essays, e.g., concentration camps are designed to provide context and link the shorter articles together
Historical dictionary of the Holocaust / Jack Fischel. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2010. D804.25 .F57 2010
History of the Holocaust: a handbook and dictionary / Abraham J. Edelheit. Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1994. D804.3 .E32 1994
Holocaust literature: a handbook of critical, historical, and literary writings. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993. D804.3 .H643 1993
- essays written by specialists, designed to guide researchers, teachers, and students to recommended texts
Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos during the Holocaust. Jerusalem: Yad Vashem, 2009. D805 .A2 M57 2009
Where once we walked: a guide to the Jewish communities destroyed in the holocaust / Gary Mokotoff. Teaneck, N.J.: Avotaynu, c2002. DS135 .E83 M65 2002
- Essential resource for access to resources on more than 20,000 communities Contains demographic and geographic information, and references to a wide variety of resources
A World in turmoil: an integrated chronology of the Holocaust and World War II / Hershel Edelheit. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991. D804.3 .E34 1991
- covers January 30, 1933-May 14, 1948, concentrating on events in Europe and the Middle East
- includes glossary of terms, bibliography