Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asian Studies

This is a guide to research resources for east and south Asian studies.

Find Books

Library Collections - Contains books, journals, conferences, government documents, reports that are held at the U of C or that the U of C is licensed to provide electronic access to.

Bibliographies - Good guides to books on your topic, not restricted to items in our collection.

Electronic Text Collections
ProQuest Ebook Central - more than 100,000 digital books - over 1500 of these are focussed on Asia.

eHRAF World Cultures -Updates the microform HRAF (Human Relations Area Files) collection. Contains a wealth of material for Asia;over 19,000 pages of text for China, over 11,000 for India and over 16,000 for Korea.

Microfilm Collections 

 Western Books on Asia: Japan - DS 821.5 A1 W47-  See also   Index to this collection

Remote Collections
Center for Research Libraries - The Library is a full member of the Center for Research Libraries and as such our students, faculty and staff have access to the five million volume collection of the Center. This includes a strong collection for Asian studies. See  South Asian Collections and South East Asian Collections

Free Resources
Eldis.org - over 26,000 full-text documents on "development policy, practice and research".  Includes over 3,000 documents for South Asia and over 2700 for East Asia and the Pacific