BUSN - Energy
Resources on the energy industry, prices, regulations, environment, and more
Energy and the Environment
COSIA is an alliance of 12 of the largest oil sands producers focused on accelerating the pace of improvement in environmental performance in Canada's oil sands through collaborative action and innovation.
- Canada-Alberta Oil Sands Environmental MonitoringInformation related to the Joint Canada-Alberta Implementation Plan for Oil Sands Monitoring - includes maps, data and interpretation and analysis.
- Technological Prospects for Reducing the Environmental Footprint of Canadian Oil SandsPrepared by the Council of Canadian Academies this 2015 report reviewed the environmental footprint of the three main bitumen processing activities (surface mining extraction, in situ extraction, and upgrading), and assessed a range of technologies with the most potential to reduce the environmental impacts on air, water, and land.
- Alberta Climate Change and Emissions Management Corp.ERA works with government, industry and innovators to accelerate development of innovative technologies that reduce GHG emissions. We are helping Alberta transition to a lower carbon future with a stronger, more diversified economy.
- Alberta Energy Regulator (AER)The AER keeps energy companies in check as they develop resources across the province.
- Oil Sands Information PortalFind information on the environmental performance of Alberta's oil sands facilities. Includes an excellent interactive mapping feature.
- Alberta Energy: Carbon Capture and StorageFind information about current carbon retrieval projects, news releases, reports, videos, and useful links.
- Alberta Innovates - Energy and Environment Solutions (formerly AERI)AIEES is the lead agency for energy and environmental research and innovation in Alberta. Three strategic areas are renewables and emerging technologies; energy technologies; and water and environmental management. Use the e-Library and research database to search for research papers and reports.
- Centre for Corporate SustainabilityCCS is a research centre within the Haskayne School of Business. It was founded in order to disseminate knowledge and find balance in environmental, social and economic approaches in energy.
Canadian Clean Technology Industry Report: Synopsis by Call Number: Electronic bookPublication Date: 2017
- Climate Change (Government of Canada)This page provides information on Canadian strategy re: climate change, carbon management and provincial action. Includes facts, reports, videos. Also find the Clean Energy dialogue with the US.
- National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI)"The National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) is Canada's legislated, publicly accessible inventory of pollutant releases (to air, water and land), disposals and transfers for recycling".
- Carbon Management Research GuideThis research guide was prepared by the librarian for Sustainable Energy, Environment and Economy and provides links to many excellent resources regarding carbon management in the energy industry.
- Safety in the Transportation of Oil and Gas: Pipelines or Rail? (Fraser Institute)This 2015 report focuses mainly on the movement of oil by pipe-line versus rail.
- Carbon Disclosure Project CanadaIncludes: CDP Canada Climate Change reports and more.
- C.A.P.P. Canadian Association of Petroleum ProducersPublications include regional perspectives on oil and natural gas, pipeline performance, natural gas development and more.
- Sustainable Development Technology CanadaThis organization supports the development of innovative clean technology solutions. The "About Us" tab includes reports on clean technologies and renewable energy.
- Clean Energy CanadaUse the "Publications" tab to access reports.
- National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI)"The National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) is Canada's legislated, publicly accessible inventory of pollutant releases (to air, water and land), disposals and transfers for recycling".
- Natural Resources Canada: Energy EfficiencyFind information on clean energy technology, energy efficiency, new technologies for oil sands resources and renewable energy.
- Pembina InstituteThe Pembina Institute's mission is "to advance sustainable energy solutions through innovative research, education, consulting and advocacy". Use the left hand navigation to find information on climate change, renewable energy, oil sands etc. The "Publications" tab provides access to reports, fact sheets, position papers and more. The "Hot Topics" tab accesses information on current sustainable energy topics such as carbon capture and storage etc.
- CanmetENERGY (Natural Resources Canada)An excellent source for information on clean energy research and technology development in Canada. Click on the Publications link to access reports.
- Renewable Industries CanadaRenewable Industries Canada represent the leaders of Canada’s bioeconomy – producers of renewable fuels and value added products that reduce GHG emissions. Use the "Resources" tab to access reports, studies, fact sheets etc.
- Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada (P.T.A.C.)PTAC facilitates collaborative research and technology development to improve the financial, environmental and safety performance of the Canadian hydrocarbon energy industry.
- InFact / Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowThe Conference Board database includes many reports on energy and the environment. Use the "Topic" link in the left sidebar to browse by topic: Energy, Environment and Transportation Policy.
- Carbon Management Research GuideThis research guide was prepared by the librarian for Sustainable Energy, Environment and Economy and provides links to many excellent resources regarding carbon management in the energy industry.
- Carbon Disclosure ProjectThe Carbon Disclosure Project promotes measurement and information disclosure of emissions on a global scale to improve the management of environmental risk.
- Center for Climate and Energy SolutionsFind information on policy, energy and technology, international climate action, facts and figures, news and more. Also includes a "Publications Library".
- Rand Corporation: Energy and the EnvironmentRand is a not-for-profit research institute that focuses on various areas that relate to government policy. The Energy and Environment section provides links to Rand's research reports.
- International Energy Agency (IEA)Look under "Topics" to find extensive resources covering carbon capture, clean energy technologies, climate change, renewable energy and more.
