Northern Studies

Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.

• Due to license restrictions, access is limited to 6 simultaneous users.
• Interface in English, German, French or Chinese; contents in 22 languages.

This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas. Major themes included are settlement development, law and order, violence, expeditions and exploration, relations with indigenous peoples, trade and commerce, death and disease, missionaries and religion, women's history, military matters, mining and gold rushes, settler governance, contested boundaries, and agriculture and livestock. The vast majority of the material is unique and unpublished manuscript in the form of correspondence, diaries, land records, and business records. Features of Frontier Life include: interactive maps and chronology, visual galleries, thematic guides, and frontier settlement floorplans and images.

Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease.

A subset of Google that only indexes academic journals. Pros: searching is very easy - just like for regular Google. Covers journals in many disciplines. Cons: Limited functionality for filtering results. May include some journals of dubious quality.

Informit's Indigenous Collection brings together ground-breaking and emerging research with topical and historical issues paramount to Indigenous studies across the world. Offering broad scope for critical international engagement and debate surrounding Indigenous culture, health, human geography and other important aspects, this inter-disciplinary platform gives definitive voice to Indigenous communities in Australia, New Zealand and beyond. Some collection highlights include: centres on significant historical and contemporary aspects of Indigenous culture and experience; authoritative views, insights and voices from Indigenous individuals and groups ; dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand, South East Asia, Pacific region and North America.

Indigenous Peoples of North America provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. These are the primary sources that take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of Indigenous Peoples. This digital collection fortifies the more general resources, by providing an opportunity for students to “dig into the past,” to discover the background of the ideas and cultures that have defined Indigenous societies, tribal organization, and Indian-white relations. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.

Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Coverage is from 1952 to the present.

The Artefacts Canada database contains more than 4 million object records and more than 1 million images from Canadian museums. Contents include art objects, ethnological and historical artefacts.

Artists in Canada, compiled and maintained by the National Gallery of Canada Library, is a bilingual union list that identifies the location of documentation files on Canadian artists. Twenty-three libraries and art galleries across Canada have contributed biographical information and lists of their documentation files to create this resource which contains information for over 42,700 artists.

Canadiana online is a full-text searchable database that includes books, journals and government publications documenting Canadian History. The e-book collection, spans three and a half centuries of Canadian documentary history, holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines. Topics range from major historical events to the development of institutions, laws, and science; from Canadian literature to philosophical treatises; from agriculture to politics, trade, and tariffs. The Serials collection includes a wide range of daily and weekly newspapers, specialized journals, and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations. Specialized publications include trade or industry journals as well as many men’s, women’s, student’s and children’s popular magazines. Early periodicals are an invaluable source of information for researchers in all fields, as they offer a remarkable record of thought and opinion on diverse issues. Lavishly-illustrated journals open a captivating window onto early Canadian society and culture through their articles, advertisements, cartoons, drawings, and photographs. The Government Publications collection includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents. This collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists, and treaties.

A collection of previously inaccessible or hard-to-find, information on Canadian art in all media, and images, video and audio clips of works produced by a broad range of artists working in Canada. The bilingual Canadian Art Database was conceived, and continues to be developed, as an interactive learning web site, connecting contemporary Canadian artists, writers and designers to educators, students and viewers throughout the world.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources and includes millions of full-text articles and records from 1933 to current, providing an ideal research environment for those interested in Canadian current events, business, science and technology, medical, humanities and the arts, and hundreds of topics.

Canadian Research Index focuses on periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues in general reference arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs. This index consists of depository publications of research value issued by federal, provincial , and territorial governments. Also includes hard-to-find non-depository publications; scientific and technical reports; policy, social economic and political reports; Statistics Canada monographs and serials.

This Introductory Guide is intended to facilitate access to relevant biographical and bibliographic information pertaining to contemporary First Nations artists.

Gale OneFile: CPI.Q, the award-winning electronic version of the Canadian Periodical Index, provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a multilingual interface, indexing from 1980 forward, and full-text articles from 1983 forward. This vast collection is fully integrated, enabling users to search the entire database with a single query. It yields a variety of relevant periodical articles, biographies, company profiles, historical documents, science and technology essays, and much more. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

GEOSCAN is the bibliographic database for scientific publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada. It features over 60,000 records for ESS publications, including: publications of the Geological Survey of Canada and the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing, Canada Topographic Maps, and external publications authored by ESS scientists and specialists.

The Héritage project is an initiative to digitize and make accessible online Canadian archival collections and primary-source documents. Chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, this collection is a resource for Canadian historians, students, and genealogists.

The Royal Canadian Geographical Society, in partnership with Canada's national Indigenous organizations, has created an atlas that shares the experiences, perspectives, and histories of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. It's an ambitious and unprecedented project inspired by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action. Exploring themes of language, demographics, economy, environment and culture, with in-depth coverage of treaties and residential schools, these are stories of Canada's Indigenous Peoples, told in detailed maps and rich narratives.

Includes full text of stories, editorials, sports and other special features from all six NNSL newspapers: Nunavut news/North, Kivalliq news, Inuvik drum, Deh Cho drum, Northwest Territories news/North and the Yellowknifer.

The Arctic and Northern Studies digital collection comprises a selection of materials from the University of Calgary’s Archives and Special Collections. The materials are rare published or unpublished archival documents, dating from the 1600s to the early 1900s, which were originally acquired by the Arctic Institute of North America, now located at the University of Calgary.

Please note that the language, terminology or visual content in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the University of Calgary, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact digitize@ucalgary.ca.

Index to the 19th Century British Parliamentary Papers concerned with the Canadian Arctic.

The Arctic Institute's online photographic collection consists of about 800 photographs dating from the late 1800s through the 1900s.

A digital educational service from the Arctic Institute of North America (AINA). ADA provides access to scientific research publications, research projects derived from license and permit information, K–12 educational resources, data management resources for researchers, virtual exhibits, and AINA’s online archives and special collections. This service expands on the former Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) database.

GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. Includes access to the GeoRef In Process database (so both databases can be searched at once) and GeoRef Preview database (on the AGI web site).

• Coverage is from 1785 (North America) and 1933 (other areas) to the present.

Comprehensive coverage of Antarctic literature from 1602 to 1962, plus coverage of books and reports from 1963 to 1996.

Glaciological literature from 1661 to the present, relating to all aspects of ice and snow worldwide.

Covers all subjects about European and Asian Northern Russia and the seas north of Russia from 1671 to the present.

Collection of HD films about the natural world, including earth science, climate science, life sciences, geography, and more.

Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

NFB.ca is the National Film Board of Canada's online screening room, featuring thousands of films, excerpts, trailers and interactive works. New content is added weekly and the collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction.