BUSN - Finance & Investment

Resources on stocks, bonds, mutual funds, commodities, ratios and more

What are they?

Stocks refer to partial ownership of a publicly traded company and represent a claim on part of the corporation's assets and earnings. Profits are sometimes paid out in the form of dividends.
Investors can make or lose money on a stock through its appreciation or depreciation in the
open market. Stocks are bought and sold on stock exchanges.

Stock Basics Tutorial (Investopedia)

Stocks

Google Finance
(Open Access)
Yahoo! Finance
Yahoo! Finance offers information including stock quotes, stock exchange rates, corporate press releases and financial reports.
Globe Investor (Globe and Mail)
Find current news, articles and market data on all types of investment vehicles. Includes stock and fund filters, industry news, investment strategies, educational videos and more

Bloomberg
Bloomberg has a dedicated station (station 14) and must be accessed from the Business Library.
An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of Canadian, U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg also provides company, industry, and market news and historical economic data.
An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg also provides company, industry, and market news and historical economic data from sources such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
CRSP Database (Center for Research in Security Prices) This link opens in a new window
This database, designed and implemented by CHASS, provides access to the data compiled and distributed quarterly, by the Center for Research in Security Prices, Graduate School of Business, University of Chicago. This database provides access to NYSE/AMEX/Nasdaq daily and monthly security prices and other historical data related to over 29,000 companies.
Thomson Reuters Datastream This link opens in a new window
Available on WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services).
Contemporary and historical numerical database covering major financial instruments; company fundamentals; equity and fixed income securities and macroeconomic data. With Datastream Add-in, you can build complex models and reports without using the desktop interface. Data and charts can be linked in Microsoft Excel®, PowerPoint®, or Word® to enable you to create spreadsheets, presentations, and documents which can be updated at the click of a button.
- Restricted access: University of Calgary students, staff, and faculty.

Last Updated: Aug 18, 2023 2:15 PM
URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/finance
Print Page

Subjects: Business

Tags: bonds, commodities, dtc, finance, investment, m&a, mergers_and_acquisitions, mutual_funds, stocks

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

BUSN - Finance & Investment

What are they?

Stocks