BUSN - Finance & Investment

The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.

An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg also provides company, industry, and market news and historical economic data from sources such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Orbis contains information on close to 400 million companies and entities across the globe, with 41 million of these having detailed financial information. It provides comparable information on companies, with extensive corporate ownership structures and a holistic view. Data highlights include: unique identifiers, industry codes, trade and detailed company descriptions, standardized and projected financials, agency ratings, global and domestic ultimate owners, M & A deals and rumors, patents and intellectual property, royalty agreements, and stock data and earnings documentation. Search companies by name or BvD ID number.

Key Business Ratios provides access to competitive benchmarking data. Industry benchmarks are compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. Contains industry balance sheet and income statement information along with ratios organized by SIC codes.

Contemporary and historical numerical database covering major financial instruments; company fundamentals; equity and fixed income securities and macroeconomic data. With Datastream Add-in, you can build complex models and reports without using the desktop interface. Data and charts can be linked in Microsoft Excel®, PowerPoint®, or Word® to enable you to create spreadsheets, presentations, and documents which can be updated at the click of a button.

• Restricted access: University of Calgary students, staff, and faculty.