Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUSN - Risk Management & Insurance

Library and web resources on risk management and insurance

Statistics

The insurance fact book (available in print in the Business Library Reference collection HG8523 .I57)

Published annually - includes world insurance market, U.S. insurance industry (all sectors), life/health financial data, property/casualty financial data, U.S. property/casualty insurance by line, losses, and factors affecting costs.


Best's insurance reports. Property/casualty, US & Canada (available in print and CD-ROM in the Business Library Reference collection HG8523 .B47)

Provides in-depth reports on insurers, reinsurers and groups, plus a database of retired companies. Find Best's credit rating, identify companies that meet certain criteria, companies' operating methods and management philosophy, etc.  


Best's insurance reports. Life/health, US & Canada (available in print and CD-ROM in the Business Library Reference collection HG8756 .B46)

Provides in-depth reports on insurers, reinsurers and groups, plus a database of retired companies. Find Best's credit rating, identify companies that meet certain criteria, companies' operating methods and management philosophy, etc. 


Office of the Superintendant of Financial Institutions (Open Access)

Use the "Financial Institutions" tab to "View Institutions" - retrieve information on life insurance companies and property/casualty insurance companies. Quarterly financial data provided by company. 


Canadian Underwriter Annual Statistical Issue (order from the High Density Library for pickup at any branch HG8011 .C35)

Published in June of each year, this issue outlines and details insurance companies’ financial performance, market breakdown, and individual company results. 


The "Brown Chart" for all lines of general insurance, provincial results (order from the High Density Library for pickup at any branch HG8550 .B74)

Published annually, this book provides a statistical look at the actual underwriting experience of insurance companies in each of the Canadian provinces and territories.