LAW Graduate Law (LLM) Resources

This guide is intended to provide relevant information to graduate and post-graduate law programs, including resources from the Law 703 Library Sessions.

Information About the LLM Guide

This guide is designed to make available information on library resources to graduate law students, including in-class library sessions for Law 703 as well as remind you of where to go for legal and interdisciplinary research assistance. Should you need any further assistance with your research please don't hesistate to call or e-mail me.

Finding Books

To find a book or journal in the library use the Library Search link below. If you have an specific title or author select "Advanced Search" to use the specific field (author, title or journal title).

Library Search Box

Government of Canada Publications (formerly E-Collection)
A collection of Government of Canada electronic publications.
more...less...
Formerly Depository Services Program, the Government of Canada Publications (formerly E-collection) includes over 120,000 freely accessible titles. Currently, about 500-600 titles are added every month. These publications are produced by departments and agencies across the Government of Canada.

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Trojman Corporation and Coherent Digital have developed a new version of Canadian Electronic Library with more content and a new platform - Canada Commons. Canada Commons brings rare, hard-to-find content from Canada that's relevant to a wide range of studies including sociology, anthropology, business and economics. Canada Commons offers extensive coverage of Canadian materials with 25,000 ebooks from scholarly and independent publishers; 180, 000 public policy papers; over 200,000 titles; and a 4,000 entry directory of Canadian research and government organizations. Content was previously available on the dèsLibris platform and is now exclusively on the Canada Commons platform.
Ebook central This link opens in a new window
- Access to subscribed content only. Personal account must be created to access some features
Ebooks are offered from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools, such as Bookshelf. Titles from the former ebrary Academic Complete collection are included.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The OECD iLibrary, the new platform giving seamless and comprehensive access to statistical data, books, journals and working papers, is now available. It replaces SourceOECD... OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest
Available in print in the Reference area at KE 173 .C54. Electronic access available through WestlawNext Canada
more...less...
In print, start with the Key volume, which includes a Research Guide and Index.
Halsbury's Laws of Canada
Available in print in the Special Collections room at KF385 .ZA2 H35. Electronic access available through Lexis Advance Quicklaw (law students only).
more...less...
Over 20 practice areas.

Faculty of Law

Specific information about the LLM program can be found through the Graduate Studies portion of the Faculty of Law's website.

Law Graduate Studies

Copies of University of Calgary graduate theses from the Faculty of Law can be found through the library search box.

U of C Libraries

You will find the Bennett Jones Law Library website to be useful for your general legal research needs. Other libraries may be useful for your interdisciplinary research.

Bennett Jones Law Library
Virtual Law Library
Gallagher Library
Geology & Geophysics
Business Library
Taylor Family Digital Library
Main University Library

NREEL LIBRARIAN

Nadine Hoffman

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Bennett Jones Law Library
2nd Floor Murray Fraser Hall
2500 University Drive NW
Calgary, Alberta
T2N 1N4

403-220-8392

Subjects: Canadian Studies, History-Primary Sources, Natural Resources, Energy and Environmental Law, Political Science

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides