SEDV Resources

Resources to help SEDV students research their topics for the research project

Reports

CDP Canada Corporate Scores
Policies for the Energy Transition - Lessons Learned in Emerging Markets
Climascope 2017 assesses the clean energy landscape of the 71 countries. This documents looks at challenges and policies.

Here are a few recommeded resources on Energy:

Energy Subject Guide
Alberta Energy Regulator (AER)
The AER keeps energy companies in check as they develop resources across the province.
Canada Energy Regulator
(Open Access)
Canadian regulatory body for the oil, gas and electric utility industries. Find energy prices, industry reports, statistics, acts and regulations and more.
Canada-Alberta Oil Sands Environmental Monitoring
Information related to the Joint Canada-Alberta Implementation Plan for Oil Sands Monitoring - includes maps, data and interpretation and analysis.
CanmetENERGY (Natural Resources Canada)
An excellent source for information on clean energy research and technology development in Canada. Click on the Publications link to access reports.
Carbon Management Research Guide
This research guide was prepared by the librarian for Sustainable Energy, Environment and Economy and provides links to many excellent resources regarding carbon management in the energy industry.
Energy Information Administration: Environment
Provided by the U.S. Department of Energy, this site provides current issues & trends, data, analysis and projections.

OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new window
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development (R&D) results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). OSTI.GOV provides access to all the information previously available in SciTech Connect, DOE Information Bridge, and Energy Citations Database. It includes journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata, technical reports, scientific research datasets and collections, scientific software, patents, conference and workshop papers, books and theses, and multimedia funded by DOE through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today. With nearly 3 million citations, OSTI.GOV includes citations to 1.5 million journal articles, one million of which have digital identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. Additionally, OSTI.GOV holds over 445,000 full-text DOE-funded reports.

Open Heritage (Canada Science and technology Museums Corp)
Portal provides working documents used by the Canada Science and Technology Museums Corporation (CSTMC). A browse by subject area will bring up topics such as energy, transportation, fisheries, etc.
City of Calgary Solar Maps
Using data collected in 2012 and 2013, The City has created this solar potential map of all buildings within city limits. The map shows varying degrees of a roof’s solar exposure, on an annual basis, in generalized optimal conditions.
World Energy Council
The WEC is a UN-accredited energy body who informs global, regional and national energy strategies through events and research.
Canadian Centre for Energy Information
The Canadian Centre for Energy Information is a source for comprehensive energy data and expert analysis. This will ensure individuals and communities have the most reliable, transparent and science-based information, as the evidence base to make informed decisions.

USGS recently published this news release and report that may be of interest for mineral and mine research in the United States and worldwide :

U.S. mines produced approximately $82.3 billion in minerals in 2020— about $1.5 billion lower than the 2019 revised total of $83.7 billion

Mineral Commodity Summaries 2021