KNES213 - Intro to Research in Kinesiology, Fall 2023
You are interested in learning whether KT tape influences sports performance.
Think of synonyms for each concept
OR is used for synonyms for the same concept
AND is used for combining concepts
Truncation is a quick way of finding all the variations of a word.
Sport* will find
What is the effectiveness of kinesiology tape (KT) on sports performance or abilities?
"kinesiology tape*" OR "kinesiology taping" OR kinesiotap* OR "kinesio tape" OR "kinesio taping" OR "kt tape" OR "kt taping" or "athletic tape" or "athletic taping"
performance or abilit* or fatigue or fitness or strength or "range of motion"
sport* or athletic*
Note, you may need to revise your search terms based on the articles you retrieve.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches ERIC, the education database, and PubMed. Also provides a quick way of finding "cited by" articles.
Video Showing How to Find Articles on a Topic in Google Scholar
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (via Ebsco) is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 415 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, nearly 250 have cover-to-cover indexing in SPORTDiscus. With more than 700,000 full-text articles dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature.
Video Showing How to Find Articles on a Topic in SportDiscus
Note: The Library homepage has changed since this video was created. Type sportdiscus in the main search box to find the database quickly. The database searching portion of the video is still the same.
CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text database is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. Includes physiotherapy, rehabilitation, and occupational therapy literature.
Detailed videos from the University of Toronto Library showing how to search CINAHL in Ebsco (nursing and allied health database) -- search strategies are similar for SPORTDiscus:
Ebsco CINAHL Tutorial
Scopus is a large interdisciplinary database. Scopus is updated daily and provides researchers with a tool to search, discover, and analyze subject areas and fields of interest across science, technology, medicine, social science, and, arts and humanities.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
Detailed video tutorials from the University of Toronto Library on how to search Medline via OVID
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO's coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to journal articles in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Useful for psychology of sports topics.
ERIC (via Ebsco)
Indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines across all educational topics. Useful for physical education topics.
- Last Updated: Sep 20, 2023 11:02 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/KNES213
- Print Page