GIS Resources

Spatial and Numeric Data Services guide to GIS data available at the University of Calgary.

Energy Data

Alberta

Alberta Energy PDF and interactive maps
Alberta Energy Regulator Maps, Map Viewers, & Shapefiles
- includes wells and pipelines

Canada

DMTI 2020 GasAndOilFacilities & Fields shapefiles download from SANDS file server
National Energy Board
- Energy Information
- Exploring Canada's Energy Future: interactive tool
Natural Resources Canada: Energy Use Statistics
- Databases including
  - Comprehensive Energy Use Database
  - Energy Use Handbook tables
- Publications
Canadian Wind Turbine Database
Canada Power Outages Map: Data is updated site wide approximately every ten minutes.

Statistics Canada

North America

Natural Resources Canada
- North American Energy Maps
  - PDF: refineries, LNG terminals, natural gas plants, power plants
  - shapefiles: Open Government Portal
North American Cooperation on Energy Information (NACEI)

International

Global Electricity Map: Live CO2 emissions of electricity consumption; strong for Europe, less for North America
Global Solar Atlas from the World Bank Group, a series of global, regional and country GIS data layers and maps; supporting the scale-up of solar power
Global Wind Atlas: free web-based application developed to help identify potential high-wind areas for wind power generation
Global Energy Monitor: includes downloadable data on coal, steel, oil & gas, wind, solar
SUBAK Data Catalogue - A collection of climate and energy data resources
Global Renewables Watch - A first-of-its-kind living atlas intended to map and measure all utility-scale solar and wind installations on Earth using artificial intelligence (AI) and satellite imagery, allowing users to evaluate clean energy transition progress and track trends over time. It also provides unique spatial data on land use trends to help achieve the dual aims of the environmental protection and increasing renewable energy capacity.
Global Dam Tracker - A database of more than 35,000 dams with location, catchment, and attribute information

See also: