Map Resources

The National Atlas of Canada
Interactive maps, thematic and references maps are linked

Atlas of Canada Small-scale Reference Maps
A collection of digital and print-ready 8.5” x 11” sized maps of Canada’s provinces and territories. It also includes a collection of maps of the continents and the World. Each map is available in three formats – colour, black and white, and black and white without names.

Toporama
Representation of the National Topographic Data Base as images : total coverage of Canada at 1:250,000; partial coverage of Canada at 1:50,000.

GeoGratis
GeoGratis is a web and file transfer protocol (ftp) site that distributes geospatial data of Canada. Data is available for download, without charge. Similarly, several types of full resolution satellite imagery are on-line. Also has link for Google Earth KMZ.

IMW Index map with links to scanned Canadian maps
This series: International Map of the World (IMW), Canadian Sector, 1956-1987, provides maps with coverage at the scale of 1:1,000,000, in Lambert Conformal Conic projection. The maps are available for download as .pdf and .tiffand are originally from GeoGratis.

Canadian Geographic Mapping
Interactive maps, archive, historical timeline

Canadian Topographic Maps Index for Alberta
Alberta grid index for Canadian 1:50,000 NTS map sheets for sale via Map Town (Calgary)

Historical National Topographic System (NTS): 1:50,000 Scale Maps, Data, & GIS
This collection provides open access to digitized historical maps at the 1:50,000 scale, covering towns, cities, and rural areas in Canada over the period of 1948 to the early 21st century.

Contact Information:

Spatial and Numeric Data Services
Rm 466, Taylor Family Digital Library
Telephone: 403-220-6822
Email: maps@ucalgary.ca