Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication Studies

Communication Studies Databases

The Communication Studies Databases can be found by using the all subject filter on the Subject Guides page. Using the dropdown you can find databases by subject. The filter sorts by keyword phrase.  Top databases to consider are   Communication Abstracts, Communication and Mass Media Complete, and Academic Search Complete. Please note that not all listed under the Communication studies list will have the same relevance.

There are subsets of Communication studies in a number of general databases.  Look for the subset in the following databases 

Specialized Resources

FIAF international index to film periodicals plus

A bibliographic resource covering the foremost academic and popular film journals up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available  in full text.

Critical commons

Film, TV and video clips, with critical commentary (Public media archive). Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts. Critical Commons is also part of the technical and conceptual architecture of the Alliance for Networking Visual Culture and the electronic authoring/publishing platform Scalar.

Pew Research Center

Conducts public polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other data-driven social science research, eg. media economics, social media

Finding Dissertations

There are many places to find dissertations and theses including dissertations and theses from the University of Calgary.  Following are some useful links: