BUSN - Business Environment
This guide provides resources on the 6 areas that constitute the business environment - economic, technological, political/legal, competitive, social-cultural and environmental.
Competitive Environment
The "competitive environment" of a business is "the part of a company's external environment that consists of other firms trying to win customers in the same market. It is the segment of the industry that includes all immediate rivals." (Source: Answers.com)
Competitive Environment
Alberta Business-to-Business sales & marketing directory by
Call Number: HF5072 .A4 A424
Publication Date: Annually
-
Calgary Company Lists and Business Directory(Calgary Economic Development) (Open Access)
Find Calgary's top companies based on various criteria and view Calgary companies for key industries. Also provides links to other business directories.
-
ReferenceGroup. Canadian BusinessesFormerly known as: Canadian Business Directory, search an extensive database of over 1,000,000 Canadian companies, both public and private. Search criteria includes, geography, industry, number of employees, and more
-
ReferenceGroup. Canadian BusinessesFormerly known as: Canadian Business Directory, search an extensive database of over 1,000,000 Canadian companies, both public and private. Search criteria includes, geography, industry, number of employees, and more.
-
Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada: Find Canadian CompaniesSearch company listings, browse companies by industry or location. Also provides links to other directories.
-
Orbis contains information on over 150 million companies worldwide. The database has a powerful screening tool that enables users to identify companies that meet specific criteria. The information on Orbis includes company financials in a standardized format, financial strength indicators, directors and contacts, original filings/images, stock data, detailed corporate and ownership structures, industry research, business and company-related news, and M&A (mergers and acquisitions) deals and rumors.
Competitive Environment - International
-
Economist Intelligence Unit: Country ReportsThese reports provide background information on the country's economy, politics, risk, regulation, business and industry.
-
ThomasNetThis website is a directory of industrial manufacturers, distributors and service providers covering both Canada and the United States. This website can be browsed by product categories and provides a search for product type, company name or brand.
-
IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook-- evaluation and ranking of the world’s most competitive economies
-- 2016 edition available in print in the Business Library (HF1 .W67 2016)
-
S & P Capital IQAccounts available upon request. Please email library@haskayne.ucalgary.ca for an account. The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.
-
Orbis contains information on over 150 million companies worldwide. The database has a powerful screening tool that enables users to identify companies that meet specific criteria. The information on Orbis includes company financials in a standardized format, financial strength indicators, directors and contacts, original filings/images, stock data, detailed corporate and ownership structures, industry research, business and company-related news, and M&A (mergers and acquisitions) deals and rumors.
-
IBISWorldClick "Industry Risk Ratings" in the upper right corner to access US Business Environment Profiles. These profiles provide insight into the drivers that affect industry performance. The drivers include exchange rates, commodity prices, interest rates, weather conditions, consumer attitudes, demographics and many more.
- Global Competitiveness Report (World Economic Forum)Assesses the competitive landscape of 140 economies.
