Skip to Main Content

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

LAW Canadian Statutes

This guide is intended to help researchers locate legislation for all Canadian jurisdictions and provide links to sources for other legislative materials

Finding Alberta Legislative Publications

The following is a chart to help you find electronic and print versions of legislative publications for Alberta. Historical statutes for Alberta are also available on a few subscription-based databases, specifically QP Source Professional since 1991 and Hein Online since 1906. As of November 2019, all Statutes of Alberta from 1906 to present, are available on CanLII.

Guide to Alberta Legislative Publications

Title

Print

Online (Open Access)

A Guide to the Legislative Process—Acts and Regulations

AVAILABLE: No

AVAILABLE: Yes

URL: <https://www.solgps.alberta.ca/Publications1/Legislative%20process%20manual.pdf>

Alberta Hansard

AVAILABLE: Yes

COVERAGE: 1972 (17th Legislature) to 2015 (29th Legislature)

AUTHORITY: Official

AVAILABLE: Yes (Alberta Legislative Assembly; Alberta Law Collection)

URL: <http://www.assembly.ab.ca>; <http://www.ourfutureourpast.ca/law>

COVERAGE: from 1972; 1972 to 1993

Alberta Scrapbook Hansard

AVAILABLE: microfilm

COVERAGE: 1906 to 1971 (collection of newspaper clippings and a few speech transcripts)

AVAILABLE: Yes (Assembly)

URL: <https://librarysearch.assembly.ab.ca/client/en_CA/scrapbookhansard>

COVERAGE: 1906 to 1971

Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta

AVAILABLE: Yes

COVERAGE: Official publication began in 1906 to March 2015

AUTHORITY: Official

AVAILABLE: Yes (Assembly; ALC)

COVERAGE: From at least 1980; to 1990

Bills

AVAILABLE: Yes

COVERAGE: 1906 to 2015

 

AVAILABLE: Yes (Assembly; ALC)

COVERAGE: from 1906; to 1990

Public Acts

AVAILABLE: Yes

AUTHORITY: Official

AVAILABLE: Yes (Queen’s Printer)

COVERAGE: current only

Statutes of Alberta

AVAILABLE: Yes

COVERAGE: 1906 on

AUTHORITY: Official

AVAILABLE: Yes (QP; ALC, CanLII)

URL: <http://www.qp.alberta.ca/>

COVERAGE: current; to 1990, to present

Ordinances of the North-West Territories

AVAILABLE: Yes

COVERAGE: to 1906

AUTHORITY: Official

AVAILABLE: Yes (ALC)

COVERAGE: 1877-1905

Alberta Gazette, Part I

AVAILABLE: Yes

COVERAGE: 1906 on

AUTHORITY: Official

AVAILABLE: Yes (QP; ALC)

COVERAGE: from 1995; to 1990

Alberta Gazette, Part II (Regulations)

AVAILABLE: Yes

COVERAGE: 1906 on

AUTHORITY: Official

AVAILABLE: Yes (QP; ALC)

COVERAGE: from 1995; to 1990

Table of Public Statutes

AVAILABLE: Yes

 

AVAILABLE: Yes (ALC)

COVERAGE: to 1990

Cumulative Index of Regulations

AVAILABLE: Yes

 

AVAILABLE: Yes (QP; ALC)

 

Adapted from The Comprehensive Guide to Legal Research, Writing & Analysis, page 5-AB:13 & 14 with permission from Emond Publishing.

Libraries & Cultural Resources