LAW Finding Law Journal Articles
This guide is intended to help researchers find journal articles, blogs and other periodicals.
Use of Indexes
Periodical indexes provide citations to various types of legal literature including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, collections of essays and book reviews. Law journal articles can be found using online legal databases and print indexes.
- Indexes provide article citations, consisting of author, title, year, volume number, journal title abbreviation and page number. Example: J. Stick, "Can Nihilism be Pragmatic?" (1986) 100 Harv. l. Rev. 332
- Some online indexes link directly to the full-text article.
Once you have located a relevant citation, take the following steps to find the article:
- Determine the full title of the journal. Indexes have abbreviation lists. Also, legal abbreviation guides are available in the Reference area at KF245 and 246 or electronically i.e., Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
- Search the online catalogue. The catalogue record will indicate if there is internet access or, for print journals, provide the call number and location.
- For other full-text database access, check journal databases on Westlaw Canada, HeinOnline and Quicklaw. The Bora Laskin Law Libary maintains a list of online law journals and locations.
- If the article is not available in print or electronic format at the library, University of Calgary staff and students can obtain it at no charge through the interlibrary loan service. Use the webform at: https://library.ucalgary.ca/interlibrary/ . Please fill the form out as completely as possible to ensure the fastest possible delivery.
Electronic Indexes
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals(U of C access only) Database CILP on Hein On LineA current awareness service produced by the Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library at the University of Washington, this list identifies articles from 300 law reviews and other legal periodicals that are indexed from 1936 to 2013.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals(U of C access only) Database IFLP on Hein On LineProvides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law. Coverage begins in 1985. Available in print - K1 .A115
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature(U of C access only) Database ICLL on WestlawNext CanadaICLL is both a comprehensive periodical index and a bibliography of Canadian secondary legal literature containing books, journal articles, conference proceedings, collections of essays, government publications, audio-visual materials, continuing legal education materials, book reviews, case commentaries and annotations. Coverage begins with August 1985. Also available in print in the Reference area (K1 .A1137) and on Lexis Advance Quicklaw.
- Canadian Forum on Civil Justice ClearinghouseThe Clearinghouse provides information on civil justice systems and civil justice reform initiatives.Database coverage contains bibliographic records of published materials such as books, symposiums, papers, casebooks/course materials, manuals, journal articles, policy reports and conference proceedings from across Canada and other common law jurisdictions. Materials date from 1960 onwards except for journal articles which date from 1992 onwards.
- Gale OneFile. CPI.Q (Canadian periodicals) This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: CPI.Q, the award-winning electronic version of the Canadian Periodical Index, provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a multilingual interface, indexing from 1980 forward, and full-text articles from 1983 forward. This vast collection is fully integrated, enabling users to search the entire database with a single query. It yields a variety of relevant periodical articles, biographies, company profiles, historical documents, science and technology essays, and much more. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
- Canadian Research Index This link opens in a new windowCanadian Research Index focuses on periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues in general reference arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs. This index consists of depository publications of research value issued by federal, provincial , and territorial governments. Also includes hard-to-find non-depository publications; scientific and technical reports; policy, social economic and political reports; Statistics Canada monographs and serials.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Areas covered include criminal justice, criminal law and procedure, corrections and prisons, police and policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, substance abuse and addiction, probation and parole, and criminology.
- Periodicals Index Online(U of C access only)Millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowBibliographic and access information for over 300,000 serials. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
- Scott's Index to Canadian Periodical LiteratureIndexes Canadian legal journals and legal articles in journals from related fields, Political Science, for example. Also indexes texts from legal conferences; and case comments.Carleton University Library
- Lexis+ Canada This link opens in a new window
- Available to Faculty of Law students only
- Password access only
Content includes Canadian, US, UK, international and foreign legal materials, and Practical Guidance. - Westlaw Canada This link opens in a new window
- Access to subscribed content only
Platform for database products published by Thomas Reuters Canada. Includes primary sources, commentary, court documents, forms and precedents, and finding tools. Full text source for Canadian law resources. Includes the Canadian Abridgement Digests and Canadian Encyclopedic Digest; cases (reported and unreported), commentary, legislations, journal articles covering the areas of general law, family law and criminal law. - Westlaw Edge (UofC Law School only) This link opens in a new windowFaculty of Law students and faculty may obtain an individual password.Westlaw Edge is a full text and indexing database that provides access to a variety of law and finding tools. It includes Canadian statutes and regulations, reported decisions from Canadian courts and tribunals, Canadian law journals and law reviews. Westlaw includes nearly 15,000 databases covering most US primary and secondary legal materials and legal research tools. It also includes over 700 full text law reviews and has legal material from the UK, Australia and the EU.
Print Indexes
With the increasing availability of computerized indexes, it is important not to overlook the print tools still available in the law library.
- Index to Canadian Legal LiteratureLaw Library K1.A1137Republished and consolidated for the years 1985-2000. Receives regular updates. The original three volumes provide retrospective coverage up to 1984. Comprehensive, including government documents, continuing legal education papers and other "grey literature".
- Current Law IndexLaw Library 1st floor K1 .A1135Canada, U.S., U.K., Australia, N.Z., Ireland. Coverage begins in 1980 and ends in 2012.
- Index to Canadian Legal Periodical LiteratureLaw Library 1st floor K1 .A114This is the oldest continuously published index to Canadian legal literature. Coverage includes periodical articles, collections of essays, case comments and book reviews. Begins in 1961 and ends in 2005.
- Index to Foreign Legal PeriodicalsLaw Library 1st floor K1 .A115
- Index to Legal PeriodicalsLaw Library 1st floor K1 .A116
- Index to Periodical Articles Related to LawLaw Library 1st floor K1 .A118Covers "substantial" English language law-related articles published in non-law periodicals that are in law-related fields. Coverage is international and is from 1958 to 2003.
- Public International LawLaw Library 1st floor K1 .A122A current bibliography of articles in the field of public international law, coverage includes international publications in periodicals and books. Begins in 1975 and ends in 2011.
- Last Updated: Sep 21, 2023 8:29 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/legaljournals
- Print Page