eBooks

Trojman Corporation and Coherent Digital have developed a new version of Canadian Electronic Library with more content and a new platform - Canada Commons. Canada Commons brings rare, hard-to-find content from Canada that's relevant to a wide range of studies including sociology, anthropology, business and economics. Canada Commons offers extensive coverage of Canadian materials with 25,000 ebooks from scholarly and independent publishers; 180, 000 public policy papers; over 200,000 titles; and a 4,000 entry directory of Canadian research and government organizations. Content was previously available on the dèsLibris platform and is now exclusively on the Canada Commons platform.

This CIHM Digital Archives begins with pre-1900 non-serial materials and continues forward to 1920. It is a collection of publications dating back to the early 17th century that are about Canada, or written and published by Canadians. The collection complements the materials digitized and made available through Early Canadiana Online and Canadiana.org

Canadiana online is a full-text searchable database that includes books, journals and government publications documenting Canadian History. The e-book collection, spans three and a half centuries of Canadian documentary history, holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines. Topics range from major historical events to the development of institutions, laws, and science; from Canadian literature to philosophical treatises; from agriculture to politics, trade, and tariffs. The Serials collection includes a wide range of daily and weekly newspapers, specialized journals, and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations. Specialized publications include trade or industry journals as well as many men’s, women’s, student’s and children’s popular magazines. Early periodicals are an invaluable source of information for researchers in all fields, as they offer a remarkable record of thought and opinion on diverse issues. Lavishly-illustrated journals open a captivating window onto early Canadian society and culture through their articles, advertisements, cartoons, drawings, and photographs. The Government Publications collection includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents. This collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists, and treaties.

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.

Collaborating with teachers in Aboriginal communities across western Canada, Galileo Educational Network - Aboriginal Resources provides teachers with unique photographs, videos, stories, books, and interactive airphotos that meet curriculum expectations and help children learn and share their own ancestral knowledge.

JSTOR is a shared digital library which includes over 2,300 academic journals (dating back to the first volume ever published), along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. JSTOR also includes articles in the public domain, including Early Journal Content (U.S. content published before 1923 and non-U.S. content published prior to 1870).

AccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine. This resource provides medical students with a variety o resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships, helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.

Ovid delivers key medical, nursing, and pharmacy texts from a variety of publishers to clinicians' desktops through the Books@Ovid database.

A resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.

This resource provides full text access to more than 130 consumer health magazines, 1,100 health-related pamphlets and 135 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to 1,300 drug monograph entries, and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.

Collection features a wide range of titles in multiple nursing sub-specialties, including surgery, administration, pediatrics, diagnosis, palliative care, and more.

The University of Calgary Press and Health Sciences Library, in partnership with the Alberta Medical Foundation, have come together to create the Alberta Online Medical History Collection providing students, teachers, researchers, historians, and life-long learners free access to a wealth of information about the history of medicine in Alberta

Trojman Corporation and Coherent Digital have developed a new version of Canadian Electronic Library with more content and a new platform - Canada Commons. Canada Commons brings rare, hard-to-find content from Canada that's relevant to a wide range of studies including sociology, anthropology, business and economics. Canada Commons offers extensive coverage of Canadian materials with 25,000 ebooks from scholarly and independent publishers; 180, 000 public policy papers; over 200,000 titles; and a 4,000 entry directory of Canadian research and government organizations. Content was previously available on the dèsLibris platform and is now exclusively on the Canada Commons platform.

The material included in this collection comprise a small sampling of books from the Chicksands Collection of Military History which is housed at the University of Calgary’s Library and Archives at The Military Museums (TMM). The collection obtained from the British Ministry of Defence is one of the largest special collections of military-related texts in a Canadian academic library.

Please note that the language, terminology or visual content in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the University of Calgary, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact digitize@ucalgary.ca.

The digital collection comprises some rare and valuable texts that are of national and international significance. Over time more will be digitized providing virtual access to many books that span over 350 years in the development of neuroscience. The physical collection comprises nearly 2500 books and journal articles, the majority of which are housed in the History of Medicine Collection in the Health Sciences Library.

Trojman Corporation and Coherent Digital have developed a new version of Canadian Electronic Library with more content and a new platform - Canada Commons. Canada Commons brings rare, hard-to-find content from Canada that's relevant to a wide range of studies including sociology, anthropology, business and economics. Canada Commons offers extensive coverage of Canadian materials with 25,000 ebooks from scholarly and independent publishers; 180, 000 public policy papers; over 200,000 titles; and a 4,000 entry directory of Canadian research and government organizations. Content was previously available on the dèsLibris platform and is now exclusively on the Canada Commons platform.

RAND disseminates the results of our work as broadly as possible to benefit the public good. The majority of publicly available research documents published since 1998 are available as free eBook downloads. Also search RAND publications dating back to 1946.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product. EEBO draws from four authoritative bibliographical resources – both Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) in their revised versions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and the Early English Books Tract Supplement – to present more than 146,000 titles and over 17 million scanned pages of content. Transcribed texts – TCP I and TCP II – are now included on EEBO, adding transcriptions to approximately 50% of the texts featured. EEBO also covers texts in more than 30 languages, ranging from Algonquin to Welsh, and incorporates variant editions and multiple copies. These collections were part of the original UMI Microfilms Collections Project.

A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. The content and its rich metadata are presented on a platform that is fully cross-searchable.