LAW Indigenous Peoples & the Law

CIRNAC is one of the federal government departments responsible for meeting the Government of Canada's obligations and commitments to First Nations, Inuit and Métis and for fulfilling the federal government's constitutional responsibilities in the North. Many of these responsibilities are defined by the more than 50 laws and regulations that CIRNAC administers. The Department's programs, services, policies and legislative initiatives help fulfill its responsibilities.

Includes databases, research aids and virtual exhibitions.

Searchable Database to find documents found in Record Group 10 (RG10), Records of the Department of Indian Affairs, 1677-1971.

Has some research papers on the various treaties as well as legislative summaries on current and past legislation.

Includes links to Aboriginal Consultation Office, First Nations Relations and Metis Relations.

Includes information about Native Americans.

o ATRIS, from the Consultation and Information Service (CIS) at Crown-Indigenous and Northern Relations Canada (CIRNAC), provides information on the location and nature of established and potential Aboriginal and Treaty rights related to consultation research.

This report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples concerns government policy with respect to the original historical nations of this country. From Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Final report from the Commission on First Nations and Métis Peoples and Justice Reform Saskatchewan

In April 1988, the Manitoba Government created the Public Inquiry into the Administration of Justice and Aboriginal People, commonly known as the Aboriginal Justice Inquiry.

The Ipperwash Inquiry was established by the Government of Ontario under the Public Inquiries Act.

The Treaty Commission is the independent body responsible for facilitating treaty negotiations among the governments of Canada, BC and First Nations in BC.

Includes the Framework Agreement on First Nations Land Management.

MSGC is the political and administrative body for the collective interests of the eight Metis Settlements. The MSGC may enact laws (General Council policies) that are binding on the General Council and every Settlement. These laws (General Council policies) are equal in status to other Alberta provincial laws.

The First Nations in BC Portal was developed by the First Nations Technology Council and facilitates the sharing and exchange of knowledge.

The Centre for First Nations Governance is a non-profit organization that supports First Nations as they develop effective self- governance.

Since 1981, produced many articles, commentaries, reports, books, briefs and learning materials.

Bora Laskin Law Library, University of Toronto

Diana M. Priestly Law Library, University of Victoria

References mainly federal information as laws regarding Aboriginals and Aboriginal lands are legislated by the federal government under the constitution. Treaties provide the historical background and framework.

Diana M. Priestly Law Library, University of Victoria

Indigenous Studies are interdisciplinary in character. Libraries and Cultural Resources have a variety of material to support research in this area - books, journal articles, video, microforms, art, and artifacts.

Native Studies Library Guides, University of Alberta

This guide will assist researchers in locating information resources as they relate to the north.

Dedicated to a wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic and political realities of indigenous nations.

The IWGIA is an international human rights organization staffed by specialists and advisers on indigenous affairs.

The Inuit Circumpolar Council (ІСС) is an international Indigenous Peoples' Organization representing approximately 160,000 Inuit living in the Arctic regions of Alaska, Canada, Greenland and Chukotka, Russia.

The UNPFII is an advisory body to the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), with a mandate to discuss indigenous issues related to economic and social development, culture, the environment, education, health and human rights.

Essay series from the Centre for International Governance Innovation

Includes Aboriginal Law and Legislation and Aboriginal resources.
Last update of this page: August 13, 2001.

University of Saskatchewan

The Indian Law Resource Center is a non-profit law and advocacy organization established and directed by American Indians.

The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) was founded in 1972 as a public law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law.