Skip to Main Content

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

GOVINFO: Canadian Parliamentary (Legislative) Publications

This guide focusses on a particular type of government document produced by the federal Government of Canada, the Parliamentary Papers.

Senate Bills

Senate (Legislative Council) + House of Commons (Legislative Assembly)
Content: The Legislative Council was the predecessor to the Senate.
Before 1860 = 1st Reading copy digitized (Very few 1st Reading copies available). If not available, then 2nd Reading copy digitized.
1860 - 1867 = 1st Reading copy only
1867 - 1873 = 1st Reading copy only
1874 - 1897 = Nothing available
Full-text Availability: Yes
Searchable?: Yes
Search Tip: Use the word bill first then the words in the title of the Bill.
Source: Early Canadiana Online

Senate Only
Content: 1st Reading Copy Only
Date Coverage: 30th Parliament 2nd Session, Oct.12, 1976 to 41st Parliament 1st Session, June 19, 2012.
NB: Ceased in paper in June 2012.

Senate + House of Commons
Date Coverage: 35th Parliament 1st Session, Jan.17, 1994 to Current Session
Full-text Availability: Yes
Searchable?:Yes
Search Tip: Use Advanced Search to search more than one Parliament at a time.
Source: LEGISinfo (Parliament of Canada)

Senate + House of Commons
Date Coverage: Current Parliament, All Sessions
Full-text Availability: Yes
Searchable?: Yes
Search Tip: Browse by Bill or use the search box at the top of the screen to search all of Parliament Now.
Source: Parliament Now

Libraries & Cultural Resources