KNES611: Research Methods in Kinesiology - Fall 2023
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRMO links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
SAGE Video Tutorials (link)
Useful videos to watch from the link above include:
- Sage Research Methods Overview
- How to Start Your Research
- Methods Map and Methods Lists
For more information, tutorials and examples about the SAGE Research Methods, click on the link below
Here's a short video that illustrates how to find information on quasi-experimental design
Finding Articles about a Research Method
Dissertations provide a wealth of information including:
- critical review of the literature
- theoretical frameworks
- research "in action" -- in depth discussion on chosen research method
- critical analysis of why a particular research method was chosen
Finding articles ABOUT a research design/method in CINAHL
- Copy and paste most the following into the first search box:
- Then search your chosen method only in the title in the next search box
Finding articles ABOUT a research design/method in Medline
- Copy and paste most relevant subject heading (listed below) into the Medline search line.
- Then search your chosen method only in the title
- Combine the search lines
Alternatively, type in the search line: as topic.hw.
This will search all of the possible subject headings at the same time.
If you retrieve too many results, you can add the following to the search:
Epidemiologic Research Design/ or Research Design/
Subject Headings About a Research Design
Controlled Clinical Trials as Topic/
Clinical Trials as Topic/
Clinical Studies as Topic/
Randomized Controlled Trials as Topic/
Non-randomized controlled trials as topic/
Single-Case Studies as Topic/
Observational Studies as Topic/
Multicenter Studies as Topic/
Evaluation Studies as Topic/
Systematic reviews as topic/
Google Scholar is not that simple to search to find studies ABOUT a research method.
You may want to use Google Scholar for following up on relevant articles you find elsewhere -- look at the cited by and the Related links. Also scan the suggested search phrases at the bottom of the page.
"quasi experimental study designs series"
click on the Cited by links and Related Articles
Kinesiology Research Books
Thomas, Jerry R. Research methods in physical activity. Champaign, IL : Human Kinetics, c2011.
GV361 .T47 2011 Taylor
Sharma, Sita Ram. Research methodology in physical education and sports [electronic resource] Jaipur, India : Book Enclave, 2007.
Berg, Kris E. Essentials of research methods in health, physical education, exercise science, and recreation. Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2008.
Q180.55 .M4 B417 2008 Taylor
McNamee, M. J. Research ethics in exercise, health and sports sciences. London ; New York : Routledge, 2007.
GV341 .M436 2007 Taylor
McFee, Graham. Ethics, knowledge and truth in sports research : an epistemology of sport. London ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
GV706.8 .M39 2010 Taylor
O'Donoghue, Peter. Research methods for sports performance analysis. Milton Park, England ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
GV558 .O375 2010 Taylor
Gratton, Chris. Research methods for sports studies. New York : Routledge, 2010.
GV706.8 .G726 2010 Taylor
General Research Methodology Books
Denzin, Norman K. The Sage handbook of qualitative research. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, c2011.
H62 .H2455 2011 Taylor
Bourgeault, Ivy Lynn. The SAGE handbook of qualitative methods in health research. London ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, 2010.
W20.5 .S129 2010 Taylor
Tashakkori, Abbas. Sage handbook of mixed methods in social & behavioral research. Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2010.
H62 .T244 2010 Taylor
Bickman, Leonard. The SAGE handbook of applied social research methods. Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009.
H62 .H24534 2009 Taylor
Panter, A. T. Handbook of ethics in quantitative methodology. New York : Routledge, c2011.
H62 .P276 2011 Taylor
Pope, Catherine. Synthesizing qualitative and quantitative health evidence [electronic resource] : a guide to methods. Maidenhead, England ; New York, NY : Open University Press, McGraw Hill Education, 2007.
Taylor, George R. Integrating quantitative and qualitative methods in research. Lanham, Md : University Press of America, c2010.
Q175 .T39 2010 Taylor
Neuman, William Lawrence. Basics of social research : qualitative and quantitative approaches. Toronto : Pearson Canada, c2012.
HM571 .N49 2012 Health Sciences Library
Vogt, W. Paul. Data collection. London : Sage, 2010. (4 volumes)
H62 .D372 2010 Taylor
Cleophas, Ton J. M. Statistics applied to clinical trials. [Dordrecht] : Springer, c2009.
Creswell, John W. Research design : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2009.
H62 .C74 2009 Taylor
Vogt, W. Paul. Dictionary of statistics & methodology : a nontechnical guide for the social sciences. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE, c2011.
HA17 .V64 2011 Reference Taylor (1st Floor)
Salkind, Neil J. Encyclopedia of research design. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2010. (3 volumes)
HA29 .E525 2010 Taylor
- Last Updated: Sep 21, 2023 10:44 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/knes611
- Print Page