Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HathiTrust

Find Your Exiting Collections

When logged into HathtTrust, you can access your previously built collections by clicking My Collections in the top right corner. The last tab, which is also labeled My Collections contains your personal collections.

Share your Collections

If you would like to share your collections, they must be set to Public.

On your selected collection's page (when you are logged in, this is accessible via the My Collections link on the top-right corner of the screen) there is a Share menu on the left side of the page. From here, you can share via Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Reddit, Tumblr, or VK. You can also copy a shareable link from this menu.

Why Build a Collection?

Building a collection allows you to:

  • Search the full text of just the books in your collection
  • Share your collections by making them public
  • Create reading lists, or to group like titles together

 

How to Build Your Collection

  1. Visit the HathiTrust website at https://www.hathitrust.org/
  2. Login using the yellow login button at the top right of the homepage screen, using your UCalgary CAS username and password
  3. Search for the titles you would like to add to your collection. You can add titles to your collection as you go, so don't worry about adding all your titles at once.
  4. You can add titles to your collections directly from the search results page:
    • Check the box next to the title(s) that you wish to add to your collection.
    • From the Select Collection dropdown box at the top of the search results page, you can select the collection to which you would like to add the selected titles. You can also create a new collection by selecting [CREATE NEW COLLECTION]
    • Click Add Selected
    • If you selected [CREATE NEW COLLECTION], a popup window will appear prompting you to name your collection, provide a description for it, and to select whether your collection is public or private. Please note that public collections are visible to any HathiTrust users, whereas your private collections are only visible to you.
    • Once your selected titles have been added, a green bar at the top of the window will confirm how many items were added to your collection.
  5. You can add titles to your collections from the Page Turner screen:
    • From the title's Page Turner view, find the Add to Collection section of the left-side menu
    • From the Select Collection dropdown list in the Add to Collection section you can select the collection to which you would like to add the selected titles. You can also create a new collection by selecting [CREATE NEW COLLECTION]
    • Click Add
    • If you selected [CREATE NEW COLLECTION], a popup window will appear prompting you to name your collection, provide a description for it, and to select whether your collection is public or private. Please note that public collections are visible to any HathiTrust users, whereas your private collections are only visible to you.
    • Once the title is successfully added, it will be listed under the Add to Collection section of the left side menu

Find Existing Public Collections

Any HathiTrust user can view a public collection. This means you can see the lists that other users have curated.

From the HathiTrust homepage (http://www.hathitrust.org):

If you are not logged in, you can find others' collections by clicking Collections on the top left corner of the screen.

If you are logged in, you can find others' collections by clicking Collections on the top left corner of the screen, or by clicking My Collections on the top right corner of the screen.

The Collections page has a number of tabs:

All will display all existing public collections

Recently Updated will display any recently updated collections

Featured will display collections selected for feature by HathiTrust

My Collections will display your personal collections (you must be logged in to use this feature)

You can search for a collection by name using the search box located within the collections tabs.