Learn the Library
What's the big deal?
Knowledge develops through recognition of previous work. As expressed by Isaac Newton, "If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants" (BBC, 2009).
Citing is the method of recognizing others' work, and it is an essential part of being a university student. Using proper citation allows instructors to see what scholars you have been reading, and it also gives you a voice in the scholarly discussion. Citing is also how we make our thought "experiments" reproducible. To prove something in the physical sciences we do experiments and ensure others can do them and get the same results, in scholarly writing (and assignments) the ideas and conclusions of other people are our evidence, so we cite them. This means someone else could look at the original source, what we conclude from it (how we interpret it to support out argument) and reproduce our thought process.
If you are wondering how many citations a paper should have consider that each new paragraph is probably discussing a new idea, or interpreting a new piece of evidence. This means each new paragraph will probably have one citation in it. The tabs below though will help you decide exactly and when to cite.
If you write something amazing, you probably would want others to cite your work too!
Both the Library and the Student Success Centre have staff and resources to help you learn to cite.
For more in-depth information about Citing please visit the Citation Help guide.
BBC (2009). Moving words: Sir Isaac Newton. Retrieved March 3, 2017 from http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/movingwords/shortlist/newton.shtml
Attribution
General knowledge does not need to be cited. It is often defined as the information found in textbook or encyclopedia. When in doubt, do not assume general knowledge.
Example: Most university students will need to write an essay during their studies.
When you take the exact wording of someone else's idea (whether partial or full sentence/passage), you must attribute using quotations and an in text-citation OR footnote. It is often better to paraphrase or summarize, but there are times when the exact quote is perfect, or you want to discuss or analyze the quote itself. Don't forget your works cited page at the end!
In-text Citation Example:
This is further reinforced by the fact that "[e]fficacy of technological tools and mediums has been measured in a variety of ways in education, but student learning is the most frequently used measure of efficacy" (Rockinson-Szapkiw et. al, 259).
Works Cited
Rockinson-Szapkiw, Amanda J., et al. "Electronic versus traditional print textbooks: A comparison study on the influence of university students' learning." Computers & Education 63 (2013): 259-266.
To paraphrase, you rewrite someone else's ideas, in the same level of detail in your own words. An in-text citation is necessary, but quotation marks are only necessary if using exact phrasing.
In-text Citation Example:
As students increasingly use mobile devices in their education, publishers have quickly responded by providing more of their textbook titles in a digital format (Rockinson-Szapkiw et. al, 259).
Works Cited
Rockinson-Szapkiw, Amanda J., et al. "Electronic versus traditional print textbooks: A comparison study on the influence of university students' learning." Computers & Education 63 (2013): 259-266.
To summarize, you are taking a larger concept and distilling it into your own words. Typically longer than a paraphrase, summarizing is a description of your understanding of the meaning and content.
Example (From the University College of the University of Toronto paraphrasing and summarizing webpage):
Here is a summary of the passage from "An Anthropologist on Mars":
In "An Anthropologist on Mars," Sacks notes that although there is little disagreement on the chief characteristics of autism, researchers have differed considerably on its causes. As he points out, Asperger saw the condition as an innate defect in the child's ability to connect with the external world, whereas Kanner regarded it as a consequence of harmful childrearing practices (247-48).
Select Style Manuals
The Chicago Manual of Style by
The Sixteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions. While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book—including a return to the Manual’s popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters. With the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice and a wealth of industry expertise from both Chicago’s staff and an advisory board of publishing professionals, The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, is an invaluable resource in this rapidly changing world. If you work with words—no matter what the delivery medium—this is the one reference you simply must have.
Call Number: Z253 .C44 2010ISBN: 9780226104201Publication Date: 2010-08-01
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
Call Number: PE1479 .P8 A5 2020ISBN: 9781433805592Publication Date: 2020
Scientific Style and Format by Call Number: T11 .S34 2014ISBN: 0226116492Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Select Online Resources
- UCalgary Student Success Centre From when you first arrive at the University of Calgary through to when you graduate, the Student Success Centre provides services and programs to ensure you make the most of your time here at university. Our advisors, learning support staff, and writing support staff are here to assist you in enhancing your skills and achieving your academic goals. We provide tailored learning support and advising programs, as well as one-on-one services, free of charge to all undergraduate and graduate students.
Cite your sources
[Untitled image]. Retrieved March 3, 2017 from
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/194006696425220189