Citation Help
This guide provides assistance and information for learning the major citation styles.
MLA
Style Guide
 |
MLA Style Guide (8th Ed.) MLA Style Guide (9th Ed.) |
Typically used in English and Film |
MLA - Modern Language Association
The Modern Language Association (MLA) format is a set of conventions for documenting sources in written work. It is the standard documentation style in English Studies, but it is also used in other fields. This handout provides basic guidelines and examples; for more information, please see the MLA Handbook (8th ed.).
MLA Made Easy by ISBN: 1586834096Publication Date: 2009-12-30A concise, handy guidebook for teaching correct MLA-style citation to middle and high school researchers.
MLA Handbook by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016ISBN: 1603292624Publication Date: 2016-04-01The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook, the official guide to MLA format. Works are published today in a dizzying variety of ways: a novel, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to as an audiobook. Writers of research papers routinely need to know how to cite works on Web sites, videos on platforms like YouTube, interviews and other works created by multiple authors, journal articles contained in databases, online images, posts on social media sites, song lyrics, and more. Instead of providing separate instructions for each format, the MLA's unique, innovative approach recommends one set of guidelines that writers can apply to any type of source. This groundbreaking edition of the MLA's best-selling handbook is short and designed for easy use. It guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research and thus focuses on the key skills of information and digital literacy. It then shows writers how to cite sources in their writing, offering detailed guidance on in-text citations, quoting and paraphrasing, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Intended for students, teachers, librarians, and advanced scholars, the handbook is an indispensable resource in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Call Number: PN147 .G52 2009ISBN: 1603290249Publication Date: 2009-01-01Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, the MLA Handbook is the guide millions of writers have relied on for over half a century. The seventh edition, taken out of print by the MLA in spring 2016 upon publication of the eighth edition, provides the MLA's previous recommendations on documentation style for use in student writing. Please note that copies of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook include a code for accessing an accompanying Web site. The Web site is no longer available.
