Métis Studies
This is a guide for researchers to showcase resources on Métis history, culture, language, genealogy and more.
Databases
These databases and websites can be utilized to find primary sources such as images, maps, newspapers, and government records. They may also be used to find secondary sources such as books, journal articles and book reviews.
The Métis and the Use of Identifying Terms
Historically, the Métis (and non-Métis) have used various terms instead of Métis. This can include "Michif," "bois brule," "chicot," "half-breed," "half-blood," "country-born," and "mixed-blood," among others. You may come across these in your research, particularly when finding primary sources.
- Bibliography of indigenous peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Indigenous Peoples North America
This database provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. - Frontier life : borderlands, settlement & colonial encounters
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.
*For a Métis-specific subject search, select the following: Explore → Search Directories → Select the subject "Métis" → Search* - Indigenous Studies Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal), developed by the University of Saskatchewan Library, is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginal Peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. - Library and Archives Canada
This search tool allows users to search all of the collections available to Library and Archives Canada (LAC). It is designed to consolidate numerous databases available from LAC into a single search and starting point. - Early Canadiana Online
Primary sources in Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century, with strengths in literature, women's history, native studies and the history of French Canada. This collection also includes official publications such as government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, regulations, royal commission reports, and treaties. Includes full text of documents. - Canadian Encyclopedia Online
The Canadian Encyclopedia is a free, bilingual, and online resource containing more than 30,000 multimedia items including images, maps, games, audio and video. Interactive features include curated content exhibits, interactive timelines, and immediate updates of important events. It is an excellent reference source to understand background information to any research topic with a Canadian focus.
