Métis Studies
This is a guide for researchers to showcase resources on Métis history, culture, language, genealogy and more.
Michif Language
The Michif language is the traditional language of the Métis and can contain various elements of the French, Cree and Ojibwa languages. Primarily, it consists of Plains Cree verbs and French nouns. It is an endangered language, as there are thought to be fewer than 1,000 speakers in North America. As Peter Bakker explains in A Language of our Own, the impetus for the emergence of Michif was that "the bilingual Métis were no longer accepted as Indians or French, and they formulated their own ethnic identity, which was mixed and in which a mixed "language of our own" was considered a part of their identity."
The following resources below are excellent for furthering one's knowledge of the emergence of Michif as a language, in addition to learning how to speak or write Michif.
- Michif - The Canadian Encyclopedia
A background resource for the history of the Michif language. - Métis Museum - The Gabriel Dumont Institute: Michif Tools
This online dictionary features over 11,500 translations and audio pronunciations by Michif-language expert Norman Fleury. A search tool allows users to look up the English word to find the Michif translations. There is also a "Lessons" section featuring over 1000 words and phrases to learn over 60 exercises, with audio pronunciations by Michif-language expert Norman Fleury. - "Speaking Michif" Lessons in Michif-Cree - Louis Riel Institute
These online lessons, developed by the Louis Riel Institute, are designed to assist in teaching families the Michif language. The lessons are at a beginner level, on the theme of everyday family life. The lessons can be easily practiced at home since they involve everyday activities and conversations. - Michif.org
Pee-piihtikweek! Ni-miyeeyihtenaan ee-waapamitaahk!
(Welcome! We are happy to see you!) Come together in the community to discover Southern Michif and other Métis languages! We offer learning resources and an online community for our beautiful languages and culture. - Speak Conversational Michif in ColourThe Michif Language Revitalization Circle is a registered charity based in British Columbia, Canada. It was founded to advance the revitalization of the Michif language by further developing and promoting the Coloured Syllable Phonetic Learning System.
Our office is located on the unceded traditional lands of the Lekwungen people and Scianew (Beecher Bay) First Nation, whose historical relationships with the land continue to this day.
Michif Language - Books
A Language of Our Own by Call Number: PM7895 .M53 B35 1997ISBN: 0195097122Publication Date: 1997-06-05The Michif language -- spoken by descendants of French Canadian fur traders and Cree Indians in western Canada -- is considered an "impossible language" since it uses French for nouns and Cree for verbs, and comprises two different sets of grammatical rules. Bakker uses historical research and fieldwork data to present the first detailed analysis of this language and how it came into being.
Michif Dictionary 2013 by Call Number: PM 7895 .M53 F543 2013 c. 1ISBN: 1926795148Publication Date: 2013-01-01This dictionary translates nearly 11,500 words into Michif-Cree, perhaps the oldest and first Michif language. The dictionary was created to bank individual words and is useful for looking up specific Michif-Cree words. The phrases section has been created to demonstrate how the language is used and how its syntax is structured. The majority of the phrases are useful for every-day communication. Other sentences were banked to show Michif-Cree's structure.
The Michif Resource Guide: Lii Michif Miiyanaan, aan Michif biikishwanaan by Call Number: PM7895 .M53 B87 2007 c. 1ISBN: 9780920915837Publication Date: 2007-01-01The Michif Resource Guide: Lii Michif Niyanaan, aan Michif Biikishwanaan was developed in response to a Michif speakers gathering that was held in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan on March 11, 2006. The Gabriel Dumont Institute (GDI), with the help of Michif speakers, collaborated to produce this resource that includes a list of Métis-specific phrases and everyday grammar for the three Michif languages spoken in Western Canada: Michif-Cree, Michif-French, and Île-à-la-Crosse Michif. This resource guide therefore departs from other resources in that it includes all three Michif languages, which will allow users to recognize both the languages' similarities and differences.
La Lawng: Michif Peekishkwewin: The Heritage Language of the Canadian Metis, Volume One: Language Practice by Call Number: PM 7895 .M53 L39 2004 v. 1 c. 1ISBN: 1894717228Publication Date: 2004-01-01The purpose of this two volume compendium is to give readers with no knowledge of Michif an introduction to the language. Volume One, "Language Practice", provides an introduction to the Michif language and numerous examples suitable for classroom instruction. All of Volume One is based on the language work done by Michif language experts, Norman Fleury and Rita Flamand.
La Lawng: Michif Peekishkwewin: The Heritage Language of the Canadian Metis, Volume Two: Language Theory by Call Number: PM 7895 .M53 L39 2004 v. 2 c. 1ISBN: 1894717287Publication Date: 2004-01-01The purpose of this two volume compendium is to give readers with no knowledge of Michif an introduction to the language. Volume Two, "Language Theory", has discussions of a standardized spelling system, verb construction, Michif storytelling examples and an annotated bibliography of Michif resources.
Co-development of a National First Nations, Inuit and Métis Languages Act
The Department of Canadian Heritage, the Assembly of First Nations, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and the Métis Nation are working together to co-develop national First Nations, Inuit and Métis languages legislation that will reflect the distinct geographical, political, legislative and cultural context impacting language preservation, promotion and revitalization.
>>Read More